Library Guides: Global Citizenry Project: Finding Information

Recommended Databases for Finding Articles

CQ Researcher
current and controversial issues
Date Coverage: 1991-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/static.php?page=faq
Gale eBooks
encyclopedia (broad overviews like on Wikipedia, but actually credible information)
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?
Academic Search Premier
tons of journals, newspapers, and magazine articles that have been evaluated
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Factiva
news sources (tough to search, ask for help if you need it!)
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Google Scholar
the scholarly side of google (kind of)
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Research by Subject
Still not finding what you need? Check out our other subject-specific resources.

Keyword Tips

Keep your keywords broad & simple, then get more specific

use synonyms
there's usually more than one word to describe what you're researching
use AND and OR
AND will make a search more specific, OR will broaden a search
use "quotation marks" to search for phrases
"American dream" or "Orange is the New Black"
use asterisks * for words with multiple endings:
legal* = legalize, legalization, legal, legality, etc.

Finding a Book

Start at the library homepage: library.missouri.edu
Click the Books & Media tab
search by Title, Author, or keyword (topic)

Background Resources for American History

American Decades
Provides information about what was going on in the United States decade by decade from 1900 to 1999. Includes information on the arts, business, fashion, politics, sports, religion, science, social trends, education and media.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 1900-1999

Maximum Users:

Truncation:
Social Trends and Indicators
Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice.
Wikipedia -- Years in the United States