Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development: Funds

Fund Naming

The budget is divided into categories for distribution: books, serials, tools, etc.  Each category is then assigned a fund and a selector.  Each fund name is an abbreviation of the subject or discipline it supports along with a number indicating the type of purchases supported by that fund.  For example, biol3 is the fund for biological materials that are print serials.  The numbers used in the fund codes are defined:

Ends with....

1        Books or DVD orders (firm order physical materials)

2        Books approvals (in any format)

3        Continuing orders (print or print + online)

4        Continuing monographic sets

5        eBooks (firm orders)

6        Gifts (physical materials firm ordered with gift money)

7        Online continuing orders

9        Online-only gifts (one-time purchases)

0        Online-only continuing orders purchased with gift funds

If there is no digit at the end of the subject abbreviation, the money is designated for non-collection materials.

List of Funds

To know what the abbreviations stand for and which selector is responsible for each fund, please visit the Acquisitions website.

Budget Archive

The folder Budget Projections and Reports on Sharepoint contains a variety of spreadsheets and data on the budget over the fiscal years such as:

  • Budget Archive: contains the Budget Model for FY2008 to FY2016 as well as the Payment History Files for FY2011 to FY2016
  • Final Expenditures: contains the MERLIN reports for the fiscal years FY2008 to FY2016
  • Firm Order Appropriations: contains the appropriations provided for funds for FY2010 to FY2016
  • FY17 Budget Planning: contains materials such as the Cut Target list, the calendar, titles being cut, etc. pertaining to the FY2017 Budget reduction

Payment History Files

The Payment History File, or Payment History reports, is a listing of all the transactions made against a fund.  These transactions include:

  • Appropriations: a portion of the budget set aside as the purchasing limit for a particular fund code
  • Encumberances:  represents a firm order that has been placed with the vendor, but has not been received or bill yet
  • Expenditures: shows the actual amount paid to the vendor for materials received
  • Cash Balance: equals appropriations minus (encumberances + expenditures) ; i.e. the amount of money still available to spend

On Sharepoint, the Powerpoint How to Use Payment History Reports will take you through the reports and how to read them.  Weekly payment history reports (usually run on Fridays) will be created for each selector including their associated funds outlining the transactions against that fund for the week.  These are posted to Sharepoint and an email is sent to inform all selectors.

The cumulative Payment History File for all of a fiscal year, for all funds, is available on Sharepoint and updated weekly.  This report is distributed in an Excel format.