Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Resources: History of Medicine
Contagion: Historical Views of Disease and Contagion
Harvard University's online exhibits are a great starting point for research on medieval and early modern responses to epidemic disease.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
Contains some links to freely available primary sources
National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division
Contains an index to medical articles "from antiquity to the mid-20th century," easily narrowed by time period, as well as online exhibits and an image database. Look under "Search Our Collections."
Wellcome Library's digital collections
British medical library's digitized collections include much modern visual material (posters, video) as well as some medieval manuscripts.
World Health Organization historical collection
Contains a few "rare books" (digitized), a majority of them in French, as well as some documentation of changes in disease classification and nomenclature over the lifespan of this 20th-21st century organization
Circulating Now: From the Historical Collections of the National Library of Medicine
Sample titles: "Influenza precautions, then and now," "Exploring Chicago's Spanish Flu of 1918," "Surviving and Thriving: AIDS, Politics and Culture," "How to Prevent the Bubonic Plague"
Key Organizational Publications
Virology and Bacteriology