TAM: Finding & Using Images: Primary Sources
& Patents

• Google Advanced Patent Search  (PDFs available for free)

• U.S. Patents and Patent Applications — Full-Text Images  (1790 to date)

• More on finding patents.

• American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables.

• American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900

• C19: The Nineteenth Century Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.

• North American Women's Letters and Diaries  provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950.

• Palmer's Index to the Times-covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of the C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department.

• Periodicals Index Online-formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of the C19 database.

• Poole's Index to Periodical Literature- indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 database. No full-text.
  

• ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2006) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper.

• Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

MU Libraries- Special Collections and Rare 
Special Collections and Rare Books houses rare and unique materials that span over four thousand years. Located on the fourth floor of Ellis Library. 

State Historical Society
 Includes Missouri newspapers from throughout the state; manuscripts, state archival records, maps and genealogical material

University Archives 
Primary sources from and about MU and the University of Missouri system

Western Historical Manuscript Collection
Papers, manuscript materials, images, etc. of individuals and organizations pertaining to the history of Missouri and of the trans-Mississippi West.