MEDLINE (Ovid) -- After performing your subject searches and combining them together, you can limit the results to those from evidence based practice literature. Click on the “Additional Limits” button at the bottom of the search box. On the limits page, use the box labeled “Publication Types” to select Meta Analysis, Multicenter Study, Controlled Clinical Trial, and/or Randomized Controlled Trial.
CINAHL -- Use "Advanced Search" and some of the limiters you can select are “Randomized Controlled Trial” and “Evidence-based Practice.” Evidence-based Practice includes “Research” articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analyses, etc.) as well as articles from evidence-based practice journals, articles about evidence-based practice, and commentaries on research studies (applying practice to research). Use with caution; every result may not be an evidence-based study.
PsycINFO -- Use "Advanced Search.” On the “Limit your results” section of the page, use the box labeled “Methodology” to select Empirical Study, Meta Analysis and/or Treatment Outcome/Clinical Trial, etc. You can select multiple methodologies by holding the “Ctrl” key and clicking on the types.
PubMed -- PubMed has several ways to search for items focusing on analysis, evaluation, and review. Under "PubMed Tools" (below the Search Box), select "Clinical Queries" to find citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, evidence-based medicine, etc. You can also do a search and use the Filters column from the main results page to limit to particular filter. You may need to click on "more" to see additional filters [meta-analyses, evaluation study, etc.].
Use databases to find articles. You can search a database by key words, by author, by journal name and other ways depending on where you are starting and what you need to find.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains references to articles in periodicals, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines.
The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. In addition, includes law and law-related periodicals.
These keywords can be used across systems to find relevant records quickly:
* Evidence-based or EBP
* Systematic review
* Meta-analysis double-blind
* Randomized controlled trial or RCT
* Empirically supported
* Clinically proven
* Clinical trial
* Practice guidelines
* Research-base
DSM V (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Vol V)
PILOTS -Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (bottom half, right, click on "Search for Published Articles")
