Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LGBTQ: Finding Articles/Journals

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

LGBTQ Journals@MU

Click here to link to an alphabetical order  listing of hundreds of W&GS journals in which LGBTQ topics and issues of sexuality and gender are discussed.  All of the journals listed are accessible through your MU Library login (same as your username).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar may also be useful for your research.  The advantage is that it is extremely broad and interdisciplinary.  The disadvantage is that the results can be chaotic and hard to control.  Think of Google Scholar not as a replacement for but rather a complement to the libraries' databases.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar for Off-Campus Access

Directions or a video on how to set up Google Scholar to link to  copies of articles provided by MU.

Finding Articles

Use databases to find articles.  You can search a database by key words, by author, by journal name, and many other ways depending on where you are starting and what you need to find. Understanding search strategies for databases can also assist in finding articles.

Since LGBTQ Studies are so interdisciplinary, there may be many choices for finding research and informaiton on your topic of interest.  Here are a few databases that cover core journals and alternative literature:


There are many other library databases that might be of use depending on the focus of your topic.  If you are looking at issues related to health, literature,  history, or government policy aspects, for instance, you will want to take a look at other subject areas.  All of these categories have their own specialized, core databases, which an be located at the "Databases by Subject" page.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kimberly Moeller
Contact:
173 Ellis Library
573-884-8603
Contact: Facebook Page