Library Guides: WGST 3450 Feminist Methodologies: Advertising

Magazines

Better Homes & Gardens
Call Number: NA7100 .B45
Copies available at Ellis Library from 1924-present, intact with original ads.

Here are just a few examples of our magazine collection. Magazines are a great way to find old advertisements.

Esquire
Call Number: AP2 .E845
Copies available at Ellis Library from 1933-1978, intact with original ads.
Ladies' Home Journal
Call Number: AP2 .L135
Copies available at Ellis Library from 1889-present, intact with original ads.
Life
Call Number: AP2 .L54715
Copies available at Ellis Library from 1978-2000, intact with original ads.
Time
Call Number: AP2 .T37
Copies available at Ellis Library from 1924-present, intact with original ads.
Vogue
Call Number: TT500 .V7
Copies available at Ellis Library from 1892-present, intact with original ads.

Recent Ads

AdForum
AdForum is an internationally focused database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media, including audio and video. AdForum also provides access to advertising agency information, news, and other information related to the advertising industry

YouTube
YouTube has many TV and radio ads. Try searches like "radio ad" diamonds.

Historic Ads: Databases

Ad*Access
Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Produced freely by Duke University.

Historic Ads: Periodicals

These databases allow you for search the ads in the newspapers and periodicals involved for your search term.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Cover-to-cover digital reproductions of every issue (1851-2020). Full page-image and full-text searching.
Date Coverage: 1851-varies

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes 1909-2010. For post-2010 issues, see the links in the MU Libraries' journal finder.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Contains articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from periodicals, including campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints: Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British.
Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics.
Date Coverage: 1860-1865
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
You can set the search to look at "display ads" for the entire historical runs (from 19th century through late 20th or early 21st century, depending on the newspaper) of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender and Washington Post.

You Never Know What You Will Find on Flickr

All-American Ads Books

1900-1919: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A11 2005
ISBN: 3822825123
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.

All-American Ads is a wonderful source of various old advertisements. Each book is separated by decade.

20s: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A12 2004
ISBN: 3822825115
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.
30s: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A13 2003
ISBN: 3822816205
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.
40s: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A14 2002
ISBN: 3822814687
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.
50s: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A15 2002
ISBN: 3822811580
Permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.
60s: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A16 2002
ISBN: 3822811599
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.
70s All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A17 2004
ISBN: 382281265X
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.
80s: All-American Ads by Jim Heimann
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A18 2005
ISBN: 3822838330
Located in the Journalism Library for check-out (availability varies), or permanently available at Ellis Library Reference for in-library use.