Library Guides: Sociology 4970: Senior Seminar: Newspapers

U.S. Newspapers

Besides using the Search & Find search on the library home page and then unchecking the box on the left sidebar that excludes newspaper articles, here are databases focusing specifically on newspapers.

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
NewsBank
Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).
Date Coverage: 1989-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), and the St. Louis American (1949-2010).

Image Gallery

Newspaper Title Search

FindIt@MU Title Search
Use this search if you already know the name of the newspaper or scholarly journal you are looking for. BUT, note that this does not search the Factiva database, which contains many newspapers.

Small Town Newspapers

onlinenewspapers.com
Links to many local newspapers available free online. Look for "news," "local news," "community," and similar sections. Many local newspaper sites do not archive much content.
Missouri Press Association Newspaper Directory
Lists Missouri newspapers, along with circulation, county, city and links to newspaper's website. Most states have a press association, so if your town is not in Missouri, Google your state's press association and look for a similar directory.