Library Guides: English 1310: Introduction to American Literature : Research & Criticism

Quick Finds

Google Scholar

MU Libraries Searches

For:

Databases

These databases are useful for finding journal articles on your topic. Some of them (like ProQuest Historical Newspapers and Early American Newspapers) can also lead you to primary sources or historically published material.

Literature Online
Provides access to English language literature in reference works, bibliographies, web pages and journals.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Formerly known as LION
Date Coverage: Varies by section
Maximum Users: 4
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
ABELL
Contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations related to the study of literature and linguistics.
Contains works published from all over the world with a multitude of English literature covered. Such as but not limited to British, American, Commonwealth and Anglo-Saxon culture.Date Coverage: 1920-present

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?
MLA International Bibliography Full Text
Indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1963-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876
This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies.

You can limit by specific date, historical era, place of publication, and newspaper title.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2004) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1999).
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Core Journals

Useful Subject Headings

These are some useful subject headings for use in the Merlin Catalog.

The links will take you to a list of all of the books in the catalog with that subject heading.

Stowe Harriet Beecher 1811 1896 Uncle Toms Cabin

Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896

Stowe Harriet Beecher 1811 1896 Criticism And Interpretation

Stowe Harriet Beecher 1811 1896 Influence

Slavery in Literature.

Slavery -- United States -- Controversial literature.