Library Guides: General Honors 1030H Sec 6: Green Engineering/Sustainable Energy: Background

Background reading

Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals. Mielenz, Jonathan R.; Klasson, K. Thomas; Adney, William S.; and McMillan, James D. Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals - The Twenty-Eighth Symposium. Springer - Verlag.

Renewable Energy. Environmental Encyclopedia. Ed. Marci Bortman, Peter Brimblecombe, and Mary Ann Cunningham. Vol. 2. 3rd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. p1193-1195.

Sustainable Development and Energy. John Zumerchik. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy. Ed. John Zumerchik. Vol. 3. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. p1113-1114.

Sustainability and Environmental Impact of Renewable Energy Sources. Hester, R.E.; Harrison, R.M. Sustainability and Environmental Impact of Renewable Energy Sources. Royal Society of Chemistry.

Sustainable Energy Use. Charles E. Ophardt. Chemistry: Foundations and Applications. Ed. J. J. Lagowski. Vol. 4. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. p190-193.

Environmental Encyclopedia
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
2,500 alphabetically-arranged entries in this well-respected science encyclopedia contain jargon-free prose that align with national science standards.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy
Articles explore everything from Albert Einstein, seismic energy, and acid rain, to lasers and building design. The Encyclopedia supports the curriculum in earth science, chemistry and life sciences, social studies, political science and more.
Alternative Energy (Wikipedia)
Alternative energy is an umbrella term that refers to any source of usable energy intended to replace fuel sources without the undesired consequences of the replaced fuels.