Library Guides: Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 4995: Honors Research: Encyclopedias, Handbooks...

Resource eBooks

CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering, The
Covers thermodynamics, solid and fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, materials, controls, energy conversion, manufacturing and design, robotics, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, and transportation.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
2,080 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards and practices; 3,000 illustrations and 900 tables clarify every important mathematical and engineering principle; collective knowledge of 168 experts helps you answer any analytical, design and application question you'll ever have; Most up-to-date engineering data available in a single source on networks, software, bar coding, electronic distance measurement, LSI and FLSI chips, optical design and more!
Roark's Formulas for stress and strain
Resource for designers, engineers, and analysts who need to calculate loads and stress. Equations and diagrams of structural properties in an easy-to-use, thumb-through format. Updated, with a user-friendly page layout. Expanded material behavior coverage and stress and strain measurement. Expanded tables and cases.
Handbook of Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning
Intermediate Heat Transfer
Heat Transfer Textbook, 3rd Edition
An introduction to heat and mass transfer available for free download.
Knovel Steam Tables
This title provides a full implementation of equations for the properties of water and steam published by The International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS). It includes interactive tables, each accompanied by a calculator, live graphs, and a power cycle efficiency calculator.

Print Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Dictionaries

The following books are available in print form in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons:

Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design
ENGR TJ230 .S5 2008
Machinery's Handbook
ENGR TJ151.M3
Mechanics of Materials
MU ENGR RESERVE TA405 .B39 2006
more...less...
0072980907
System Dynamics
ENGR TA342 .O35 1998
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
MU ELLIS REFERENCE READY REFERENCE Q121 .M3 2007

ASM Handbook (in print)
Call Number: MU ENGINEERING REFERENCE TA459 .A52 1990
Publication Date: 1990

eBook Collections

ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass (formerly ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library) is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including ASTM standards, ASTM journals, research reports, selected technical papers, manuals, data series, symposia papers, a terminology dictionary and more.
Date Coverage: NA

Maximum Users: 2

Truncation:
Truncation/Wildcard for numbers: *;Automatic truncation for text
O'Reilly
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Date Coverage Varies

Maximum Users Unlimited
Knovel
A database of e-books and includes: ASHRAE Handbooks, ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Codes, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles, and Transportation Engineering.
Free account can be created for personalization
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
Tutorial: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14354/supporthub/knovel/

ASM Handbook Online
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties.