Library Guides: Chemical & Physical Properties: Optical,Spectra

Spectra Resources

CAS SciFinder
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html

Gmelin Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie : Index-Formul index
The Gmelin Handbook covers over a million inorganic and organometallic compounds with inorganic chemical facts with more than 800 chemical and physical data fields available for each substance, including electric, magnetic, thermal, crystal, and physiological data.
ELLIS QD151 .G52 [LIBRARY USE ONLY]
Beilstein Handbook of organic chemistry
The Beilstein Handbook contains organic chemical facts including bioactivity and physical properties and ascertaining the environmental fates of compounds with more than 300 chemical and physical data fields available for each compound.
MU ELLIS QD251 .B4 1918 Suppl.5
Handbook of ultraviolet and visible absorption spectra of organic compounds
Print: ELLIS QD291 .H5
NIST Chemistry WebBook
These spectra from the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology can be searched by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS #, and selected physical property data.

Spectra: IR (16,000), MS (15,000), UV (1,600)
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
About two-thirds of the compounds in this database from the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan) contain 6 - 16 carbon atoms. Lab measurement details are provided. The database can be searched by variety of parameters (compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS #, nmr peak positions, mass number, etc.

Spectra: ESR (2,000), 1H NMR (13,900), 13C NMR (12,000), IR (49,000), MS (21,800), Raman (3,500)
EPA Reference Absorbance Spectra
This covers spectra of 189 air pollutants mandated by Title III of the Clean Air Act. Spectra are grouped by chemical name, CAS # and molecular formula. Experimental measurement details such as cell path length, temperature, and concentration (ppm) are provided. Spectra are in spc format and are viewed using a free Windows-compatible viewer called ShowSPC.

Spectra: FT-IR (189 interferograms)
NMRShiftDB
NMR spectra can be located using searches by title, structure/substructure and chemical shift data.

Spectra: NMR
Sigma-Aldrich
Online chemical products catalog provides access to many NMR, IR & Raman spectra. Use the "Click for Search" link, then search by product name, catalog number, CAS number, MDL number, molecular formula. In the results list, click on the product # of interest to access the product information screen, which includes links to any available spectra. Spectra can be saved to a pdf file, printed, or e-mailed.

Spectra: IR, NMR, Raman

Structure Determination of Organic Compounds: Tables of Spectral Data This succinct compilation of essential reference data for the interpretation of NMR, IR, UV/Vis, and mass spectra also provides a hands-on guide for interpreting experimental spectral data and elucidating the structure of the respective compounds behind them. This fourth edition of the highly successful and concise textbook contains about 20% new data.
ISBN: 9783662624388
Publication Date: 2020

Print Spectra Resources

Handbook of organic compounds : NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra featuring polymers and surfactants
ELLIS Reference QC462.85 .H36 2001 v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
ELLIS Reference QD95 .E55 2000
Proton and carbon NMR spectra of polymers (1983)
ELLIS QC463.P5 P43 1983 v 2-3
Handbook of Fourier Transform Raman and Infrared Spectra of Polymers (1998)
ENGR Reserve Desk QC463.P5 K86 1998
Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra (1985)
ELLIS REFERENCE QD96.I5 P66 1985 v. 2
Eight Peak Index of Mass Spectra (1974)
ELLIS QC454.M3 M36 1974 v. 1-3
Handbook of Mass Spectra of Environmental Contaminants (1992)
ENGR TD193 .H57 1992
UV-VIS Atlas of Organic Compounds (1992)
MU Depository QC459 .U85 v. 3-5

Print Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (NMR), Mass Spectrometry (MS) and Infrared Spectroscopy (IR / FT-IR)

Proton and Carbon NMR Spectra of Polymers (1983)
ELLIS QC463.P5 P43 1983 v. 2-3
Encyclopedia of spectroscopy and spectrometry
ELLIS Reference QD95 .E55 2000 v. 1-3
Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-VIS Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants (2001)
ELLIS Reference QC462.85 .H36 2001 v. 1-3