Skip to Main Content

Chemical & Physical Properties: Inorganic
& Organic

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Inorganic

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 84th edition

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Knovel
A database of e-books and includes: ASHRAE Handbooks, ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Codes, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles, and Transportation Engineering.
Free account can be created for personalization
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
Tutorial: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14354/supporthub/knovel/
CAS SciFinder
Search for chemistry and chemical engineering literature, patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email.
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Presents articles in alphabetical order with multiple entries for key elements. The content is organized to the following subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods.
MU ELLIS Reference QD148 .E53 2005 v. 1-10
Gmelin Handbook
The Gmelin Handbook covers over a million inorganic and organometallic compounds with inorganic chemical facts with more than 800 chemical and physical data fields available for each substance, including electric, magnetic, thermal, crystal, and physiological data.
ELLIS QD151 .G52 [LIBRARY USE ONLY]

Organic

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 84th edition

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Chemical Properties Handbook
Chemical Properties Handbook provides access to accurate information on how chemicals behave at different temperatures and under different conditions is provided for both organic (C1 to C28) and inorganic (Ag to Zn) substances.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 1999 edition

Maximum Users: 2

Truncation:
NA

CAS SciFinder
Search for chemistry and chemical engineering literature, patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email.
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html

eEROS (Electronic Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis)
Contains a database of over 48000 reactions and around 3500 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches.

Knovel
A database of e-books and includes: ASHRAE Handbooks, ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Codes, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles, and Transportation Engineering.
Free account can be created for personalization
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
Tutorial: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14354/supporthub/knovel/

Methods in Organic Synthesis
An alert service covering the most important current developments in organic synthesis.
Natural Products Updates
A database which provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from dozens of key primary journals.
Organic Syntheses (Wiley/CambridgeSoft; needs ChemDraw plugin)
Annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Requires plugin called "ChemDraw Pro" that works on PCs and Macs, but not UNIX machines.
Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry
The Beilstein Handbook contains organic chemical facts including bioactivity and physical properties and ascertaining the environmental fates of compounds with more than 300 chemical and physical data fields available for each compound.
MU ELLIS QD251 .B4 1918 Suppl.5

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2024 12:07 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/properties
Print Page

Subjects: Chemistry , Engineering & Computer Science

Tags: chemical & physical properties, chemistry, engineering, subject guides