Library Guides: Linguistics: Useful Websites

Resources on the Web

This page contains additional resources and webpages that are freely available on the web. Please note that these webpages are not peer-reviewed and the information they contain may be biased or inaccurate. For information on evaluating web resources, please see this checklist.

General Linguistics Websites

The Linguist List
A forum for the exchange of ideas and discussion of linguistics research.
Linguistic Resources on the Internet
A topically-organized list of linguistics resources compiled by SIL International.
Glottopedia
Free, editable online encyclopedia of linguistics.
Haskins Laboratories
A private, non-profit research institute with a primary focus on speech, language and reading, and their biological basis. Website includes information about child language studies, virtual tour of a 1940s talking machine, and other demonstrations and descriptions of linguistics projects.
SIL International
A faith-based nonprofit organization that engages in research, translation, training and materials development in language communities worldwide as they build capacity for sustainable language development.

Languages

Starmer, C. Frank. Licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Digital Librarian - Languages
A librarian's selection of the best language websites.
English Language Timeline
From the British Library, this interactive timeline allows you to explore the evolution of English language, from the 11th century to the present day.
iLoveLanguages
A collection of over 2,000 language-related websites.
IDEA: The International Dialects of English Archive
Online recordings of dialects and accents.
The Rosetta Project
Global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers working to build a publicly accessible digital library of human languages.
Speech Accent Archive
Recordings of accents by native and non-native English speakers.
UCLA Language Materials Project
Teaching resources for less commonly-taught languages.
Endangered Languages Archive (ELAR)
An online archive of documentations and descriptions of endangered languages.

Speech-Language Pathology

American Academy of Audiology
more...less...
The American Academy of Audiology is the world's largest professional organization of, by, and for audiologists. The active membership of more than 11,000 is dedicated to providing quality hearing care services through professional development, education, research, and increased public awareness of hearing and balance disorders.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
more...less...
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 150,000 members and affiliates who are audiologists, speech-language pathologists and speech, language, and hearing scientists.

Phonology

International Phonetic Association
Includes the International Phonetic Alphabet and sound recordings
more...less...
The IPA is the major as well as the oldest representative organisation for phoneticians. It was established in 1886 in Paris. The aim of the IPA is to promote the scientific study of phonetics and the various practical applications of that science.
Telsur Project
A survey of linguistic changes in progress in North American English

Lexicography

Lexical FreeNet
Finite relation expression networks, or FreeNets, allow you to search for lexical and conceptual relationships between words or phrases. Lexical FreeNet is a network that combines semantic relations derived from WordNet with relations derived from other linguistic data. To operate Lexical FreeNet, type in a source concept and a target concept, select the linguistic relations you would like to explore, and then choose a query option.
SIGLEX (ACL Special Interest Group)
To access the search function click "online resources" tab.

Searchable list of 51 lexical resources related to lexical issues ranging from lexicography and the use of online dictionaries to computational lexical semantics. You can search this list by resource name, type, language, or keywords.