Missouri Government: Statistics by Decade

136-page report covers agriculture, weather, value of personal property, government finances, railroads, education, crime, prisoners, labor, marriage and a special section on St. Louis County including health, births, deaths, agriculture, property value, manufacturing, etc.
See report reprinted in the appendix to the Missouri legislative journals (volume for 1868). Report begins on page 329.

Counted white and black people by age groups by county; also includes deaf, dumb, blind, insane and livestock and agricultural product counts. See report reprinted in the appendix to the Missouri legislative journals (volume for 1877). It is placed at the end of the volume.

Available online from Census Bureau website. The first census that would include Missouri state data would be 1830.

Will tell the location (in the library) for printed editions of 19th century Missouri state agency publications. Use the Missouri Historical Documents Browser to find state agencies' annual reports which might show statistics.

Contains statistical data on labor, employment, occupations, agriculture, manufacturing, etc.

Available online from Census Bureau website

Contains statistical data on labor, employment, occupations, agriculture, manufacturing, utilities, prison shops. Located at the State Historical Society.

Statistics of population, agriculture, manufactures and mining...with supplement for Missouri. The Missouri Supplement is substantial, spanning pages 565-729. It includes some trend data that reaches back to 1900 or sometimes to 1890.

The state of Missouri began keeping vital statistics (birth, death, marriage and divorce) in 1911. Annual birth and death statistics before this date are unavailable.

Contains statistical data on labor, strikes, employment, agriculture, manufacturing, mining, industry, transportation, population, earnings and debts, cost of living, wages, occupations, education, literacy, housing, and more.

Statistics of population, occupations, agriculture, drainage, manufactures, mines and quarries for the state, counties and cities.

Statistics of population, agriculture, manufactures and mining...with supplement for Missouri. The Missouri Supplement is substantial, spanning pages 565-729. It includes some trend data that reaches back to 1900 or sometimes to 1890.

This set includes separate volumes for each Missouri county. Significant quantity of facts, statistics, charts, graphs and narrative information on social conditions. Stored off-site, must be requested.

Standard metropolitan statistical areas and counties, selected years, 1929-1976. Stored off-site, must be requested.

Population. Fourth Series. Characteristics by age [showing] marital status, relationship, education, and citizenship, etc....for MISSOURI (72 pages)

Provides population, housing, manufacturing, agricultural, trade and miscellaneous statistics for each county. Most data borrowed from the 1940 U.S. Census, (but arranged more conveniently for those who want to focus on individual Missouri counties.)

In standard metropolitan statistical areas and counties, selected years, 1929-1976

Characteristics of the population: sex, age, race, nativity, citizenship, country of birth of foreign-born white, school attendance, education, employment status, class of worker,
major occupation group, and industry group. Vol. 2, Part 4 includes Missouri on pages 309-474.

Each county has four pages of population, economic, agricultural and social statistics.

In standard metropolitan statistical areas and counties, selected years, 1929-1976

This volume from the 1950 federal census is dedicated to Missouri. Covers population characteristics, education, occupation, industry, employment, income.

Part 27 covers Missouri.

Profiles counties. There are about 50 pages of data for each county profile. Statistics cover population, income, housing, business, local government finance, agriculture, manufacturing, education, and more.

Each county has four pages of population, economic, agricultural and social statistics.

Vital statistics cover births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. In some volumes of this publication, additional detail regarding cause of death, and maternal and infant demographics and health data are also available.

For standard metropolitan statistical areas and counties, selected years, 1929-1976

This volume, published in 1970, contains 1960s data. With 172 pages, it covers many subject areas in some detail: population, health, social services, education, recreation, labor, employment, income, wealth, government finances, banking, transportation, agriculture, mining, construction, housing, manufacturing and business.

Columbia, MO Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (#47) 8.3MB pdf

St. Louis, MO Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (#181) 25MB pdf

Springfield, MO Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (#203) 18MB pdf. Important: the Springfield MISSOURI section starts on page 73 of this pdf file.

Kansas City, MO-KS Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (#99) 22MB pdf

St. Joseph, MO Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (#180) 7.76MB pdf

Paper copy in library.

5.5MB pdf file

Paper copy in library.

Kansas City, MO.

St. Louis, MO

Selected rural counties in Missouri

Can be requested through MOBIUS.

In standard metropolitan statistical areas and counties, selected years, 1969-1977

All the data is statewide - no breakdowns by towns or counties. Includes some unusual data, for example "Annual budget costs for a retired couple," "Number of lawyers," "Average hospital costs" and more.

An Analysis of the Racial Characteristics of the Missouri Population Using the 1970 United States Census of Population...and Related Materials.

Volumes for 1972-1977.

For Missouri and substate regions. Includes population, employment, income, birth/death, education, health, agriculture and motor vehicle statistics, for 1970-1976.

Shows statistics on population, local taxes, commercial services, utilities, health services, education, climate, labor and major employers.

Lake of the Ozarks area (Report #33): Statistics for Camden, Laclede, Miller, Morgan, and Pulaski counties.

Meramec area (Report #36): Statistics for Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps, and Washington counties.

Mid-Missouri area (Report #37): Statistics for Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Cole, Cooper, Howard, Moniteau, and Osage counties.
Missouri Valley area (Report #38): Statistics for Carrol, Chariton, and Saline counties.
N.E. Missouri area (Report #39): Statistics for Adair, Clark, Knox, Schuyler, and Scotland counties.
N.W. Missouri area (Report #40): Statistics for Atchison, Gentry, Holt, Nodaway, and Worth counties.
Ozark Foothills area (Report #41): Statistics for...
Ozark Gateway area (Report #42): Statistics for Barton, Jasper, McDonald, and Newton counties.
Show-me area (Report #43): Statistics for Henry, Johnson, Lafayette, and Pettis counties.
S.E. Missouri area (Report #44): Statistics for Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Iron, Madison, Perry, St. Francois, and Ste. Genevieve counties.

ABCD area (Report #24): Statistics for Andrew, Buchanan, Clinton, and De Kalb counties.
Boonslick area(Report #25): Statistics for Lincoln, Montgomery, and Warren counties.

Green Hills area (Report #29): Statistics for Caldwell, Daviess, Grundy, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, and Sullivan counties.
Bootheel area (Report #26): Statistics for Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Scott, and Stoddard counties.
DOW area (Report #27): Statistics for Douglas, Ozark, and Wright counties.
E-W Gateway area (Report #28): Statistics for Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, and St. Louis counties and the city of St. Louis.
HOST area (Report #30): Statistics for Howell, Oregon, Shannon and Texas counties.
Kansas City Metro area (Report #31): Statistics for Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray counties.
Kaysinger area (Report #32): Statistics for Bates, Cedar, Hickory, St. Clair, and Vernon counties.

Lakes Country area (Report #34): Statistics for Barry, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Lawrence, Polk, Stone, Taney, Webster, and Stone counties.
Mark Twain area (Report #35):

Significant source for statistics on population, socio-economic indicators, business, agriculture, government finance, etc.

The menu system from Missouri Census Data Center provides data by towns, townships, counties, metro areas, zip codes, census tracts.

Shows statistics on population, local taxes, commercial services, utilities, health services, education, climate, labor and major employers.

Customizable population data. You select the county, time frame, and demographic variable. Includes data from 1990 to 2012.