Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resource Guide for New Law Faculty: E-Resources

A guide designed to introduce new faculty to the research and teaching resources available from the MU Law Library.

Accessing Online Databases

On Campus

If you are on campus, access is almost always through IP access.  This means that the database will recognize your computer automatically if you are using your office computer, a library computer, or MIzzou Wireless. 

Off Campus - Law only resources

Some resources are made available only to Law School faculty and students.  These have an access designation of Law only. To access these resources from off campus

  1. Click the URL for the database
  2. Enter your username/Password (the same one you use for your email)

Off Campus - MU resources

Some resources are made available to the entire University of Missouri campus.  These have an access designation of MU access.  To access these resources from off campus:

  1. Click the URL for the database
  2. Enter your username/Password (the same one you use for your email)

Forgot Your Username or Password?

We have several password protected databases, including Bloomberg, LexisNexis, and Westlaw.  Our vendors want to help you work out password issues, or any other issues you may have with their service.

 

If you have lost your username and password, first try the “Forgot My Password” functionality first.  If you still have trouble, call them.  They really want to talk to you about this as you have the answers to your security questions.

 

Bloomberg Law – 1-888-560-BLAW (2529)

 

LexisNexis – 1-800-45-LEXIS (53947)

 

Westlaw – 1-800-WESTLAW (937-8529)

 

Cindy Bassett bassettcw@missouri.edu | 573-884-9150 can help with the process as well.

Legal Research Access

Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw passwords will be provided to you by Cindy Bassett in advance of your first class.  To request one, contact her at bassettcw@missouri.edu or 573-884-9150.  Let her know if you experience problems logging these systems or if you have forgotten your username/password!

Bloomberg, LexisNexis and Westlaw use different URLs for law school and academic access than for general customer access. We recommend either using the links on the Law Library's homepage or bookmarking these URLs on your computer.

Bloomberg Law http://www.bloomberglaw.com/

LexisNexis http://www.lexisnexis.com/lawschool/

Westlaw http://lawschool.westlaw.com/DesktopDefault.aspx

Online Databases

The Law Library's collection of online databases can be accessed easily through the Library's homepage.  Databases are arranged by subject, publisher, alphabetically, or by accessibility.  You can choose how to view them by clicking on your preference toward the top of the database page.

The MU Libraries Homepage, which is managed by the Ellis Library staff, is the place to go to access the rest of MU's online content.  By following the "Databases" tab in the middle of the page, you can search for online databases by name or alphabetically.  For broader searches, you can use the Discover@MU search box on the home page to do a search of Ellis' entire online collection.

Online Research Guides at MU Law and Other MU Libraries

The MU Law Library creates research guides for classes and other law-related areas of interest.  Research guides are increasing in popularity because they can be used for so many purposes- to make documents available, offer a synopsis of a course or an area of the law, and house links to outside sources.  And all of the information can be kept in one place, year after year. 

Would like to have a guide available for one of your courses? Contact  your library liaison for more information.

In addition to the guides at MU Law Library, the librarians at other MU Libraries have created subject guides for a multitude of subject areas.  The subject guides are located here or by searching in Discover @ MU, the campus discovery tool.