Library Guides: Finding Health Information: LGBTQ+ Healthcare

Community Resources

The Center Project
The Center Project is Mid-Missouri's first and only lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning and ally community space. Located in downtown Columbia, they offer a friendly, safe facility for a wide variety of groups and events.
Metro Trans Umbrella Group
This group tries to fill resource gaps and provide community and support. Whether you are a part of another group or are wishing to find a sense of community, MTUG strives to support all individuals that fall under the “Umbrella term” of Trans which includes, but is not limited to: Transsexuals (FtM, MtF), genderqueer, androgynous, agender, intersex, drag, and questioning.
MU LGBTQ Resource Center
The LGBTQ Resource Center serves the Mizzou campus by offering a referral service, books/magazines for lending, and a safe space.
Out and Proud in Missouri
Out, Proud and Healthy is a statewide effort to raise awareness of LGBTQ health disparities in Missouri and connect people with resources and community.
PROMO
PROMO is Missouri's statewide organization advocating for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender equality through legislative action, electoral politics, grassroots organizing, and community education.
Transgender Health Network
A network of Mid-Missouri health care professionals specifically focused on increasing and improving health care services to trans-identified and gender expansive individuals in our community. This website is designed to share the most recent list of trans-friendly providers in our network.
TransParent St. Louis
TransParent is a St. Louis based organization dedicated to providing compassionate support and resources to parents and caregivers raising a gender independent child.
LGBTQ Healthcare Directory in Mid-Missouri
We've linked to a list of healthcare providers in the Mid-Missouri area, but you can use this directory to find LGBTQ+ friendly healthcare near you are not in Mid-Missouri.

National Resources

CDC Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
List of resources on LGBTQ health compiled by the Center for Disease Control.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT)
The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) Round Table of the American Library Association is committed to serving the information needs of the GLBT professional library community, and the GLBT information and access needs of individuals at large. We are committed to encouraging and supporting the free and necessary access to all information, as reflected by the missions of the American Library Association.
GLAAD
GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBT acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and creates a world where everyone can live the life they love.
Healthcare Equality Index
The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ benchmarking tool that evaluates healthcare facilities’ policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ patients, visitors and employees
Health People 2020: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.This link is specific to the health of LGBT individuals.
Health Professionals Advancing LGBT Equality
Health Professionals Advancing LGBT Equality's (GLMA) mission is to ensure equality in healthcare for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) individuals and healthcare providers.
Medline Plus
On this page you'll find information about specific health issues relating to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender individuals.
National LGBT Health Education Center
The National LGBT Health Education Center provides educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people.

Books and Media

TransParent Podcasts: Transgender & Gender Independent Youth
Missouri Health Equity Collaborative and TransParent partnered to provide the parents’ perspective of how families living with gender non-confirming youth adapt over time.

The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health by American College of Physicians Staff Provides guidance, guidelines, and discussions of clinical issues pertinent to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender patients and community. This book is intended for healthcare professionals seeking further knowledge and guidance on sexual minority health care.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Health Inequalities by Julie Fish (Editor); Kate Karban (Editor) This pioneering study examines inequalities experienced by LGBT people in health care and considers the role of social work in addressing the inequity. The book is organized into three parts: the first provides a policy context in four countries, the second examines social work practice in tackling health inequalities, and the third considers research and pedagogic developments. The volume’s distinctive international approach features practice vignettes as well as key theoretical perspectives on the components of health inequalities, including social determinants of health, minority stress, ecological approaches, and human rights. With a preface from Gary Bailey, president of the International Federation of Social Workers, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Health Inequalities will be relevant to an interdisciplinary, international audience of social work educators, practitioners, and students.
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by Laura Erickson-Schroth (Editor) Trans Bodies, Trans Selves isa comprehensive, reader-friendly guide for transgender people, with each chapter written by transgender or genderqueer authors. Inspired by Our Bodies, Ourselves, the classic and powerful compendium written for and by women, Trans Bodies,Trans Selves is widely accessible to the transgender population, providing authoritative information in an inclusive and respectful way and representing the collective knowledge base of dozens of influential experts.

LGBTQ Ted Talk(s)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of LGBT.
Be The Generation on Youtube
Be The Generation was created by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) to maintain and establish relationships with communities most impacted by the HIV/AIDS epidemic,