There are a lot of quality resources out there to serve consumers that speak languages other than English. Use the following resources as a starting point, and as always, let us know if there's any good sites we left out!
Accessible through MU and through MOREnet, this database offers an abundance of consumer health information and translations on wellness materials in several different languages.
MediBabble is a free, professional-grade medical translation tool that contains thousands of translated questions and instructions. MediBabble is currently available in five languages — Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin, Russian, and Haitian Creole — with more coming soon
A global MU Health Care Language Services department is available 24/7 to ensure that non-English speaking or limited-English speaking patients, along with deaf or hard-of-hearing patients, receive free language assistance. This assistance includes provision of competent and qualified interpreter services and/or written translation of information/documents that are important to the well-being of the patient.
‘Cue Cards’ is a resource developed by Eastern Health, Diversity and Inclusion, to assist health professionals and clients / carers who primarily have English language difficulties, or problems communicating with each other.
Cystic Fibrosis Worldwide is in official relation with the World Health Organization. Together with the CFW, WHO has produced documentation and guidelines in the care and treatment of persons with cf in different languages.
Languages Offered: Arabic, Bulgarian, Dutch, English, Farsi, French, German, Georgian, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Spanish, Turkish
Emphasis on cultural awareness in patient care, resource offering an abundance of information. Multilingual resources, refugee information and additional information servicing underserved communities.
Languages Offered: Amharic, Chinese, Hmong, Karen, Khmer, Oromo, Somali, Spanish, Tigrinya, Vietnamese
Genetic Alliance UK's translation library. The organization aims to provide high quality services and information to improve the lives of people affected by genetic conditions.
Languages Offered: Arabic, Bengali, Bulgarian, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, Icelandic, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian Russian, Somali, Slovakian, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Sylheti, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu
Health Information Translations provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate.
Languages Offered: Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Marshallese, Multilingual, Nepali, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukrainian, Vietnamese
HealthReach is a national collaborative partnership that has created a resource of quality multilingual, multicultural public health information for those working with or providing care to individuals with limited English proficiency.
Languages Offered: 90+ languages are offered in the drop down menu.
Vaccine Information Statements (VISs) are information sheets produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Languages Offered: Arabic, Chinese, French, Hmong, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Turkish, Vietnamese
The OMHRC Knowledge Center contains a collection of 50,000 documents, books, journal articles, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. The library collection also includes sources of consumer health material in more than 35 languages.
Point-to-talk booklets, translated into several different languages, to assist with the care of non-english speaking patients
Languages Offered: Albanian, Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese.
Manage quality translations for the health sector wishing to produce multilingual information and work with an extensive network of ethnic media, community and professional bodies, such as ethnic medical associations to extend the reach of interventions.
Languages Offered: 60+ languages are offered.
The National Network of the Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) has compiled a plethora of great other language resources. Explore the site when you have a couple free minutes and find some favorites.
Languages Offered: American Sign Language, Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, French, German, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese.
A range of fact sheets on health and safety topics have been developed by Sydney Children's Hospital, The Children's Hospital at Westmead and Kaleidoscope Hunter Children’s Health Network. They aim to help you learn about your child’s illness and ways you can help improve their overall health and well-being.
Languages Offered: 25+ languages are offered.