Skip to Main Content

Brief Guide to Resources for Research: Background
Information

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
more...less...
Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: 2-5

Truncation:
Automatic

CQ Researcher
Contains in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues. Provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
Date Coverage: 1991-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/static.php?page=faq

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
Timely research on the environment, economics, society and government
IssueLab
Case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems compiled by the Foundation Service.

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2024 10:03 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/BasicResearch
Print Page

Subjects: Library Research Tools

Tags: books, citing, databases, subject guides, subjects, writing