Library Guides: Religious Studies: Medieval, Renaissance, Reformation

Featured Reference Books

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ellis Library Reference, BX841 .N44 2003
ISBN: 0787640042
Also available online
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Ellis Library Reference, CB361 .E52 1999
ISBN: 0684805146
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: Ellis Library Reference, BR302.8 .O93 1996
ISBN: 0195064933

CD-ROMS in Ellis Library

CD-Roms are located in the southwest corner of the first floor of Nutter Information Commons, Ellis Library.

Databases for Articles: Medieval, Renaissance, Reformation

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. The database includes articles, conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages.
Date Coverage: 1967-present
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
ATLA Religion Database
Contains indexes published annually by the American Theological Library Association focusing on theological studies. Also provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Date Coverage: 1949-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/Atla
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
Date Coverage: 1995-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Specifically contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview

Primary Sources

Bible in English
A collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
Date Coverage: NA

Maximum Users: unlimited

Truncation:
*

Catalog of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
Attempt at a comprehensive, searchable database of medieval manuscripts available online. Database can be browsed by location, author, title or shelfmark.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Created at Calvin College, the CCEL is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian works. It is also a good resource for finding hymns, creeds, and even fiction.
Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 300-1500

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
NA

Featured Special Collections

Bibliotheca Palatina (microfiche set)
Call Number: MU Ellis Library Spceial Collections, MICF 6698 fiches A 1-U 24
Collection of 8,000 Greek, Latin, oriental and Humanist works...considered the foremost collection of the 15th, 16th and 17th century texts

"Links Galore" - Public Domain Full Text Links

Links Galore online texts spreadsheet
An ever-growing list of links to digital copies of some collections of books of interest to classicists, medievalists etc. in the public domain published by Google Books, archive.org, HathiTrust and others.

Individual works collected at Links Galore are listed below. All links go to the Introduction tab of the spreadsheet - links to each individual work are found in separate tabs of the spreadsheet, which do not have individual URL's.