Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
The titles below will provide quick background information on many topics. To explore further, search the MERLIN catalog for books. Suggested subject searches:
Great Britain--Civilization--19th Century
England--Social Life and Customs--19th Century
The Encyclopedia of Romanticism: Culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s
DA529 .E53 1992
Cambridge Companion to Victorian Culture
DA533 .C36 2010
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia
DA550 .V53 1988
The 1890s: An Encyclopedia of British Literature, Art, and Culture
DA560 .A18 1993
The Victorian Literature Handbook
PR461 .V54 2008
What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew: from Fox Hunting to Whist: the Facts of Daily Life in Nineteenth-Century England
PR468.S6 P66 1993
A Companion to the Victorian Novel
PR871 .C643 2002
Online Text Collections
Use these collections to access materials published during the 19th century.
Use Catalogs to Find 19th Century Materials
You can also find materials from the 19th century using the library catalogs:
MERLIN for materials from the University of Missouri
MOBIUS to search academic libraries in all of Missouri
WorldCat to search most other places.
(Materials from other Missouri libraries are usually delivered within a few days. Materials from out of state usually take about a week.)
In the advanced search you can limit by date of publication.
You might also use these keywords to locate early materials re-published later:
- personal narratives