Teaching and Researching Comics and Graphic Novels

The Cartoonists of Color, Queer Cartoonists, and Disabled Cartoonists databases were created and are maintained by cartoonist MariNaomi as a way to spotlight marginalized comics creators. The databases are used by booksellers, librarians, academics, editors, book publishers, event organizers, readers, and more.

The Cartoonists of Color, Queer Cartoonists, and Disabled Cartoonists databases were created and are maintained by cartoonist MariNaomi as a way to spotlight marginalized comics creators. The databases are used by booksellers, librarians, academics, editors, book publishers, event organizers, readers, and more.

The Grand Comics Database (GCD) is a nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world.

The Cartoonists of Color, Queer Cartoonists, and Disabled Cartoonists databases were created and are maintained by cartoonist MariNaomi as a way to spotlight marginalized comics creators. The databases are used by booksellers, librarians, academics, editors, book publishers, event organizers, readers, and more.

The Queer Comics Database is not affiliated with any publishers or review sites. It was created by Aydin Kwan and Le Button as a Capstone project for the University of Washington’s iSchool program, with support from Geeks OUT.

Women Who Draw is an open directory of female* professional illustrators, artists and cartoonists. It was created by two women artists in an effort to increase the visibility of female illustrators, emphasizing female illustrators of color, LBTQ+, and other minority groups of female illustrators.
*Women Who Draw is trans-inclusive and includes women, trans and gender non-conforming illustrators.

Animation is an international, peer-reviewed journal brings together research in film and media studies, architecture, art and design, visual culture and creative practice. The journal seeks to create an academic dialogue mapping the interdisciplinary nature of animation studies. Articles address all known techniques, revealing animation's implications for other forms of time-based media. Animation is listed in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship is an open access, open peer review academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship. The journal aims to make original contributions to the field of comics studies and to advance the appreciation of graphic narrative.

Ellis Library has no.32(1977)-265 ,268-271, 273-301(2010)-

Devoted to the study of European-language graphic novels, comic strips, comic books and caricature.

Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications. Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.

ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media, published by the English Department at the University of Florida with support from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Inks, the journal of the Comics Studies Society, features scholarly research on sequential art, graphic narrative, and cartooning.

Anthologies and scholarly works on comics by women.

International and multidisciplinary in scope, IJOCA aims to publish scholarly and readable research on any aspect of comic art, defined as animation, comic books, newspaper and magazine strips, caricature, gag and political cartoons, humorous art, and humor or cartoon magazines.

Essays and book reviews on popular culture in all areas of the arts, humanities, social sciences and physical sciences.

Subjects for this journal include manga, anime, game design, fashion, graphics, packaging, and toy industries as well as a broad range of fan practices related to pop culture in Japan.

Special Issue: Graphic Narrative
Guest Editors: Hillary Chute and Marianne DeKoven
link via Project Muse

SANE journal: Sequential Art Narrative in Education SANE journal publishes research and practitioner-based articles covering all intersections of comics and education, from pre-k to post-secondary studies, from a variety of disciplines.

The Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research is an international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields.

This is an international bibliography of comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, cartoons, bandes dessinees, and related topics.

ComicsResearch.org primarily covers book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research.