Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance: E-Resources

A guide to critical works on plays and playwrites

More Online Resources

Looking for more about Theater in Missouri?  Try these options!

Missouri State Thespians

This is an online site for all of the theatrical goings on of Missouri.  Join a troupe, attend a play, or find out whats going to be performed in your town!

Event Production Services-MU

Can't wait for the next show?  Use this site to find out what the latest performances will be and reserve tickets to see them. The focus here is for on campus students, but off campus students are always welcome to come as well.

Fox Theatre- St. Louis

For those wanting to see a broadway quality performance, the Fox theater in St. Louis hosts several famous comedians, productions, and events.  Reserve tickets online today.

Databases

International Bibliography with Full Text

International Bibliography with Full text is a full text database with articles over various plays, actors, and playwrights.  It also contains several critical reviews over theatrical plays and performances.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.

Literature Online

Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals.

Directories

Use the Theatre Services Guide For listings of the various theaters across the United States.

http://www.theaterservicesguide.com/Theaters/directory.asp

 

The Theatre Communications Group is a great resource for finding people involved with the current goings-on of the theatre world.

https://www.tcg.org/about/membership/directory/personnel.cfm

Indexes

MU Libraries has several print Index's available for students to use.  A few useful ones are listed below.

 

The Theater/Drama Speech Index is a collections of abstracts from famous plays.

Title Theatre/drama & speech index.

Published [Pleasant Hill, Calif., etc.] : [Theatre/Drama & Speech Information Center], 1974.

 

                  Call Number  Z5781 .T48

 

For a more comprehensive Index of Theater Actors and Plays, the Theatrical Index is a great online resource

http://theatricalindex.com/

Find books on the MU Campus