Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictrionaries of Terminology
International Dictionary of Theatre by
Call Number: PN2000 .I574 1992
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
The International Dictionary of Theatre is a three-volume work, international and historical in scope, covering the theatre from the festivals of ancient Greece to the productions, plays, players, directors and designers of the modern stage. The 3 volumes comprise 1500 entries, selected by an international advisory board.
Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater by
Call Number: PN2721 .S46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
"Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater is the first and only reference work in English devoted exclusively to Russian theater and drama. It provides information on popular plays and playwrights and offers details about many people, works, and phenomena omitted from standard encyclopedias. .
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Praise for the previous edition: "...handy for book-group leaders. Highly recommended for public and academic libraries.";Library Journal "...this valuable resource is more accessible and broader in approach than other literary dictionaries.";School Library Journal "Recommended for public, college, and high-school libraries."
An International Dictionary of Theatre Language by
Call Number: PN2035 .I5 1985
Publication Date: 1985-09-25
âJoel Trapido and his staff of editors and consultants have put together an impressive dictionary thet includes theatre terms from around the world. It is intended for a wide variety of users--theatregoers, students at all levels, scholars, amateur and professional theatre people.
Encyclopedias of Terminology
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Providing the most important information about theatre and performance from ancient Greece to the present day, this two volume encyclopedia has a thematic contents, a timeline, a general bibliography and an index of plays to complement the A-Z entries.
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by
Call Number: ML102.M88 G3 1994
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
From puppets to living players and musical speech to colloquial prose, Asian theatre is a rich world of contrasting expressions. While it has thrived for centuries and embodies the folk traditions of the Asian people, it also reflects contemporary concerns and innovative theatrical practices. At a time when Asia is of tremendous importance to the West, its theatre is a key to understanding its culture as well as the heritage of Asian Americans.
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia by
Call Number: ML102.M88 H59 1995
Publication Date: 1995-05-30
The first encyclopedia of theatre songs from Broadway shows ranging from "The Black Crook" (1866) to the 1994 Tony Award-winning "Passion," this handy guide features over 1,800 songs from over 500 musicals. It gives such information as the songs' authors, original performers, and dates and history of recordings.
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Europe by
Call Number: PN1861 .W6 1994
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre:Europe covers theatre since World War II in forty-seven European nations, including the nations which re-emerged following the break-up of the former USSR, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia.
How to search for Bibliographies
Searching for Bibliographies can be difficult, especially when looking for the author of various works. To seperate the works from the biographies, make sure to search the authors name under subject heading, rather than under the author field. Use the advanced Discover @ MU link below and select the topic field for searching. Enjoy!
Advanced Discover@MU Search
This is the advanced-search version of the simple Discover@MU search embedded on the MU Libraries home page, http://library.missouri.edu. This discovery tool is a simple and fast search engine that helps you find relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Libraries’ collections.
Multicultural Writers from Antiquity to 1945 by
Call Number: PN452 .M85 2002
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
The final decades of the 20th century have seen an explosion of interest in multiculturalism. But multiculturalism is more than an awareness of the different cultures comprising contemporary societies. For centuries, people from around the world have come in contact with cultures other than their own, and their exposure to multiple cultures has fostered their creativity and ability to make lasting contributions to civilization.
Life of William Shakespeare by
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2012-05-07
The Life of William Shakespeare is a fascinating and wide-ranging exploration of Shakespeare's life and works focusing on often neglected literary and historical contexts: what Shakespeare read, who he worked with as an author and an actor, and how these various collaborations may have affected his writing.
Tennessee Williams by
Call Number: PS3545.I5365 Z7326 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-22
John Lahr has produced a theater biography like no other. Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh gives intimate access to the mind of one of the most brilliant dramatists of his century, whose plays reshaped the American theater and the nation's sense of itself.