Journalism Subject Databases and Resources

Provides circulation statistics for several thousand U.S. and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on different subscriptions, such as digital, home delivery, and single-copy sales, and are available in PDF format.

Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.  Note:  Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.  

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.

Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).

Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for a selection of regional (U.S.) newspapers along with full-text television and radio news transcripts. Access provided by MOREnet.

Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), and the St. Louis American (1949-2010).

Contains newspapers, trade journals, general interest periodicals, blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe. Users can also access international, national, and regional news.