Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Graduate Student Seminar: Handbooks

Covers thermodynamics, solid and fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, materials, controls, energy conversion, manufacturing and design, robotics, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, and transportation.

Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily with the world's leading engineering handbook Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principle, and the collective wisdom of 160 experts help you answer any analytical, design, and application question you will ever have.

Solutions-based approach to quick calculations in structural element design and analysis. For designers, engineers, and analysts who need to calculate loads and stress. Provides equations and diagrams of structural properties in an easy-to-use, thumb-through format. Includes expanded coverage of joints, bearing and shear stress, experimental stress analysis, and stress concentrations, as well as material behavior coverage and stress and strain measurement, Includes expanded tables and cases; improved notations and figures in the tables; consistent table and equation numbering; and verification of correction factors.

Combines practice and theory, systems and control, and the latest methods and technologies to provide, in one volume, all of the modern design and operation information needed by HVAC engineers.

Intermediate Heat Transfer discusses numerical analysis in conduction and convection, temperature-dependent thermal conductivity, conduction through a slab from one fluid to another fluid, steady-state heat conduction in a two-dimensional fin, and truncation and round-off errors in finite difference method. Indispensable resource for professionals and seniors and first-year graduate students pursuing tracks in mechanical, aerospace, nuclear, and chemical engineering.

This introduction to heat transfer offers advanced undergraduate and graduate engineering students a solid foundation in the subjects of conduction, convection, radiation, and phase-change, in addition to the related topic of mass transfer. The text addresses the implications, limitations, and meanings of many aspects of heat transfer, connecting the subject to its real-world applications and developing students' insight into related phenomena. Three introductory chapters form a minicourse in heat transfer, covering all of the subjects discussed in detail in subsequent chapters.

This title provides a full implementation of equations for the properties of water and steam published by The International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS). It includes interactive tables, each accompanied by a calculator, live graphs, and a power cycle efficiency calculator.

Reference for Mechanical, Manufacturing, and Industrial Engineers, Designers, Draftsmen, Toolmakers, Machinists, Engineering and Technology Students. Includes information on micromachining, expanded material on calculation of hole coordinates, an introduction to metrology, further contributions to the sheet metal and presses section, shaft alignment, taps and tapping, helical coil screw thread inserts, solid geometry, distinguishing between bolts and screws, statistics, calculating thread dimensions, keys and keyways, miniature screws, metric screw threads, and fluid mechanics.

Mechanics of Materials & Dynamics are the second and third volumes of a three-volume textbook on Engineering Mechanics. Presents the basic concepts and principles of mechanics in as simple a form as the subject allows. A second objective of this book is to guide the students in their efforts to solve problems in mechanics in a systematic manner. Volume 3 contains Particle Dynamics and Rigid Body Dynamics.

Covers the basic equations for numerical method calculations regarding heat transfer problems and applies these to problems encountered in aerospace, nuclear power, chemical processes, electronic packaging, and other related areas of mechanical engineering. Presents the necessary formulations, numerical schemes, and solution techniques for solving problems of heat and mass transfer and related fluid flows. Updated coverage of parabolic systems, hyperbolic systems, integral-and integro-differential systems, Monte Carlo and perturbation methods, and inverse problems.

Mechanics of Materials is the second volume of a three-volume textbook on Engineering Mechanics. Presents the basic concepts and principles of mechanics in as simple a form as the subject allows. A second objective of this book is to guide the students in their efforts to solve problems in mechanics in a systematic manner.