Library Guides: Engineering Databases: Engineering Databases A-Z

Engineering Databases A-Z

Academic Search Premier
Full-text of more than 8,600 multi-disciplinary periodicals as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco

ACI Journals (Materials, Structural, Concrete International)
Search the abstract archives of the ACI Journals. No online access to full-text of articles. Print volumes are in the Engineering Library.

ACM Digital Library
Computer science related bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings.
Date Coverage: 1947-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Wildcard: *

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175462

Applied Science & Engineering
Provides free access to 76 databases and almost 4,000 full text, scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of subjects from medicine to engineering.
ARC: Aerospace Research Central
More than four decades of technical aerospace information and documents.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Provides easy bibliographic access to ALL ASCE publications. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958.

ASCE Research Library
Comprehensive online tool for locating articles on civil engineering. More than 48,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
Date Coverage: 1995-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Automatic word stemming

ASM Handbook Online
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties.

ASME Digital Library
ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2009 to the present.
ASME's Transaction Journals: 1990 to the present
ASME's Conference Proceedings: 2009 to the present
ASTM Compass
Standards for materials, products, systems, and services. Covers subject areas such as steel, petroleum, medical devices, property management, consumer products, and many more.
Date Coverage: NA

Maximum Users: 2

Truncation:
Truncation/Wildcard for numbers: *;Automatic truncation for text

Citeseer Research Index
Digital Library focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

Engineering Village
Comprehensive core engineering database using the Engineering Village platform back to 1970.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
User's Guide: http://ei.org/Support_Training

Directory of Published Proceedings
Locate research papers, including unpublished papers.
DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
Find DOE-sponsored scientific research data, including computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia and scientific images.
DOE SciTech Connect (Department of Energy)
SciTech Connect contains all the full-text documents and citations previously found in the DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.

GEOREF
American Geological Institute's geoscience database.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1933-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
GreenFILE
Free EBSCO database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Truncation:
? for single character wild card; # for alternate spelling; * for truncation
Note: Wildcards and Truncation can not be combined for a term in a search. For example, a search for p#ediatric* would be the same as a search for P*..
IEEE Xplore
IEEE and IEE journals, standards, and proceedings. Computer science and engineering, electrical and electronics engineering.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

INIS Database (IAEA)
INIS (International Nuclear Information System) Database. IAEA INIS is operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in collaboration with its Member States and co-operating international organizations. Peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology
Jahrbuch Database
Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics. Provides a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period 1868-1942 (based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik")

JSTOR
Full-text database covering arts and sciences.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
Knovel
Collection of e-books covering chemistry and chemical engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, sustainable energy and development and transportation engineering.
Free account can be created for personalization
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
Tutorial: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14354/supporthub/knovel/

Materials Science
Searches multiple materials science databases: Aerospace Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering; Ceramic Abstracts; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Copper Technical Reference Library; Corrosion Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Materials Business File; Metadex.

MathSciNet
Index of articles related to pure and applied mathematics.
Date Coverage: 1940-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plural: Automatic; Wildcard: *

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
MetaLib
Searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations with direct links to selected resources available online.
Morgan Claypool
Collection of electronic lecture-style books (50-100 pages each) in the fields of engineering and computer science.
Department of Energy PAGES (Public Access Gateway of Energy & Science)
NIST Virtual Library
Search for digitized NIST technical reports, handbooks, special publications, and technical notes.
OAIster
A collection of freely available, academically-oriented digital resources.

PapersFirst
Citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide.
Date Coverage: 1993-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Plurals: +; Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Patents
Links to U.S. and International Patent databases.

ProceedingsFirst
Index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings.
Date Coverage: 1993-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Plurals: +; Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ProQuest Technology Collection
Indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and over 2,700 full text journals.
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Indexes popular general interest periodicals in many subjects including Aeronautics, Environment, Science and Technology.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
O'Reilly
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Date Coverage Varies

Maximum Users Unlimited
ScienceDirect
Search through Elsevier journals, books, reference works, and images for the Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. Full-text access is available only for MU currently subscribed titles and a few backfiles of non-subscribed titles.
Date Coverage: Varies by title

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: !; Wildcard: *
CAS SciFinder
Chemistry and chemical engineering literature including patents and the CAS Registry.
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: https://cas-product-help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/categories/10002745446029-FAQs-and-Quick-Reference-Guides
CAS SciFinder Registration
In order to use SciFinder-n, you must first register for an account using your @missouri.edu email address.

SciVerse
Find relevant methods by searching only in the Materials and Methods section of Elsevier full text articles.

Scopus
Comprehensive science abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library contains the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research and provides tools for researchers to optimize their valuable time. With more than 425,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited

Toxnet
From the United States National Library of Medicine databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
Transportation Research Record
Peer-reviewed papers on specific transportation subject areas and modes.
TRID: Transportation Research Information Database
Provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
Covers a wide range of water resource topics including water resource economics, conservation, control, hydrology, water planning, water cycle, and water quality.
Date Coverage: 1968-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175454

Wiley Interscience
Multidisciplinary database offering access to journals, online books, reference works and databases.
World Wide ENERGY
Information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy, nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies. Includes ETDEWEB along with other energy resources.