Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

MU Libraries provides access to a large list of newspaper resources. There are international, national, and local newspapers included in the collection. The descriptions below the database links will provide information as to what kinds of resources are included.

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for a selection of regional (U.S.) newspapers along with full-text television and radio news transcripts. Access provided by MOREnet.
Date Coverage Varies
Maximum Users Unlimited
Truncation
Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
NewsBank
Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).
Date Coverage: 1989-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

English 1000 Instructional Session - Anderson

Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

For a full list of newspaper databases: Newspaper Databases