Africa-Based Secondary Sources - HIST 4835 - Race and Politics in South Africa - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

The Strategic Metasearch

When searching large corpora like Discover@MU, Dimensions free search, or Google Scholar, it is often possible to scope the search to an individual journal title. In Google's Advanced search, you can also scope a search to a web domain. In Dimensions free search, you can scope to a journal list like SCIELO. Be sure to put journal titles in quotation marks when specifying them in Google Scholar or Discover@MU.

Discover@MU (scoped to search beyond MU)
You can search within an individual journal here. Follow FindIt@MU links to full text or the ILL@MU form for interlibrary loan/document delivery.
Dimensions free search
Very large article index, can be scoped to open access journals or to individual journals; can also be scoped to SCIELO.
Google Scholar Advanced Search
Use 3-lines menu to open a popup for the Advanced search.
Google Advanced Search
If you can use a domain name (e.g., scielo.org) to locate content from an African publisher, use this search.

Africa-Based Scholarly Writing

SCIELO SA
Scielo is South Africa’s premier open-access (free to access and free to publish) searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community. SCIELO SA covers a selected collection of peer-reviewed South African scholarly journals. SCIELO journals as a group can be searched in Dimensions Free Search.
African Academic Journals in English (AJOL)
AJOL is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research. Millions of monthly downloads by site users from nearly every country in the world are an indication of the need and widespread use of the AJOL initiative. More than half of the repeat users are from Africa. The search bar for this database of African journals can be found on the right-hand side of the page.
CODESRIA (Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa) Journals
This is one of the most prestigious academic publishing houses on the continent, based in Dakar, Senegal, which has produced top-quality research for decades (in English and French). They have an online library of digitized publications, many available in full text. Best searched within individual publications using Google Scholar's advanced search.

more... less...

• On the homepage, in the top navigation bar you'll see a tab titled, "Programmes," which reveals several tabs, including "Publications and Dissemination." Once you are on that page, you can then follow the Books or Journals icons.
o Books: if you click the Books icon, you'll see a link on the left named "Catalogue," which opens a page that links to all of CODESRIA's open-access books, most of which are freely available in full text. You will need to scroll through the hundreds of pages to find what you need, so this is time-consuming.
o Journals: If you click the Journals icon, you'll see a list of CODESRIA's journals. Click the "Past Issues," link listed underneath each title to browse past issues. If you click on the African Sociological Review, for example, you'll find entire issues available freely online. This will also take some browsing as the titles are not easily searchable.
CODESRIA books
Best searched using Advanced Google (NOT Google Scholar) search. Enter codesria.org as the site to be searched in Google's form. Alternately, browse the site itself.

HIST 4835 - Race and Politics in South Africa: Africa-Based Secondary Sources

The Strategic Metasearch

Africa-Based Scholarly Writing