Primary Sources - HIST 4835 - Race and Politics in South Africa - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

US and British Newspapers, Newsmapgazines etc.

The Times Digital Archive
Full-text copy with every page of every issue of the London Times newspaper from 1785 to 2012.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), and the St. Louis American (1949-2010).
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.

Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
HeinOnline
The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. In addition, includes law and law-related periodicals.

Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force.
Date Coverage: 1925-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?

Hathi Trust
Searches full text of millions of books. You can choose to look only at items with full text online, or you can locate items in a library.

Primary Sources: South Africa, Regional

African Activist Archive
o This includes records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. Materials include pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings of interviews.
African Media Program (AMP)
o AMP offers an online, impressive database of films, videos, and other audio-visual materials concerning Africa as well as education services about African media. The AMP is a project from Michigan State University's African Studies Center:
JSTOR Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
JSTOR has gathered a number of archival resources for the study of southern Africa, from divestment pamphlets to oral history interviews. These collections include material related not just to South Africa but southern Africa in general: Namibia, Lesotho, etc
National Library of South Africa Digital Collection
Digitized newspapers from many time periods plus visual content such as postcards and posters.
Rsearch Archives, University of the Witwatersrand
o This site includes the two major research archives at the University, namely the Historical Papers Research Archive (HPRA), and the South African History Archive (SAHA). In addition, it incorporates our partner institution, the Robert Mangaliso Sobukwe Museum & Learning Centre, and the projects AFRAPIX and MEDU. This multi-institutional setup allows for searching across these institution's online finding aids and searchable digital items.
Southern Africa Labour & Development Research Unit (Saldru)
This clippings collection was built up by the School of Economics at the University of Cape Town beginning in the mid-1970s, in order to track developments in SA during apartheid. Daily English-language press cuttings were filed and this archive has preserved events that would have remained unrecorded in other ways
United Democratic Front Posters
This website collections poster art, photographs, and other documents related to the United Democratic Front, from 1983 to 1991.
Truth and Reconciliation Commission at DoJCD
Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) recordings and hearings at the South African Department of Justice and Constitutional Development.
Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) - SABC
Truth and Reconcilation recordings and hearings from the South African Broadcast Corporation

Descriptions of some non-MU links in this box were written by Dr. Merve Fejzula in 2023.

Primary Sources: African Continent

Africa Online Digital Library
A collaborative project between MATRIX and Michigan State University, AODL links to different sites and provides an array of materials, including documents, interview material, documents, and video footage.
Cooperative Africana Materials Project (Center for Research Libraries)
The Cooperative Africana Materials Program (CAMP) has developed a huge collection of African newspapers & missionary documents from the 19th and 20th centuries, in addition to other ephermera, non-U.S. dissertations on Africa, etc
Afriterra
o This library has digitized 5,000 of the rarest original maps focused on Africa, covering a time span of 500 years. The complete scope covers all regions and scales in 8 different languages.
Afrobarometer
Non-partisan project that provides survey data about the social, political, and economic climate of many African countries, particularly southern, eastern, and western Africa.

Descriptions of all links in this box were written by Dr. Merve Fejzula in 2023.

Historical Film/Video Archives

Archivio Cinematografico Storico (Italy)
The online archive of the Italian state-owned Luce company, with 70 years of newsreels, from the late 1920s forward.
British Movietone News
Cover 1929-1979; requires free registration to use.
British Pathe and Reuters Historical Collection
1910-1970
News On Screen
Contains most newsreels and "cinemagazines" issued in Britain between 1910 and 1983.

Oral History Collections

Overcoming Apartheid Oral History Collection
o This presents first-hand accounts of this important political movement. Interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives are included, and you can browse them here, many of which are recorded as video, so you get the added audiovisual benefit.
Inanda Seminary Oral History
o The Inanda Seminary is an independent, girls' secondary school situated in Inanda township near Durban, South Africa. Between October 2008 and June 2010, Meghan Healy of Harvard University conducted interviews with these affiliates (students, teachers, etc.). Interviews were in English and one-on-one, except where otherwise specified.
Community Video Education Trust
o CVET in Cape Town is building a digital archive of videos taken in South Africa in the late 1980s and early 1990s. The raw footage documents anti-apartheid demonstrations, speeches, mass funerals, celebrations, and interviews with activists. Videos capture the activism of trade unions, students and political organizations, including the activities of the United Democratic Front.
Padraig O'Malley Oral History Interviews
This site has collected transcripts of South African political figures talking with O'Malley about the transition of South Africa from apartheid to democracy. Padraig O'Malley collected these interviews for over a decade 1985-1986, so they track the late days of apartheid and the transition to democracy.