Skip to main content

2014 MU Libraries International Students Workshops: Finding Articles

Google Scholar

It is possible to set your preferences in Google Scholar to display the Findit@MU link.

This will allow you to link from citations in Google Scholar results to the full-text of the articles (if they are available from the MU Libraries).

Instructions are provided for setting your Google Scholar preferences.

Google Scholar Basic Search Tips

Google Scholar Advanced Search Tips

Tutorials and Videos

Search & Find

Discover @ MU is a good place to start your research. 

Discover @ MU is a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the MU Libraries' collections. It is the place to start your research in scholarly journals, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results, it's one step to the full text of articles or you can see if a book is on the shelf.

 

Finding Articles

The MU Libraries have access to thousands of journals.  Many, especially current issues, are available online from various databases and publishers.  We also have many, usually older issues, available in paper and housed within the MU Libraries.

To find articles, you must first identify specific citations.  To do this, you can search article databases provided by the MU Libraries.  There are hundreds of databases available to you.  Some of the databases are multidisciplinary and will search across many subject areas.  Other databases are subject-specific, which means they provide more comprehensive and focused indexing within a certain subject.

When you are starting a search, you may want to try a multidiscplinary database first to discover what types of articles are available on your topic.  We have a list of resources to Try First.

To identify the more specific subject database for your topic, use the Databases by Subject listing.  Click on the subject that is most closely related to your topic to see a list of relevant databases.

You can look for additional subject-specific resources in the subject guides.


If you do not find the html or PDF full-text of the article within the database, just click the  Find it
 @ MU next to the article citation.  The article will display if available electronically.  If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog. If the article is not available online or in print, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan.