If you have the citation information for a specific article and you want to look for it across databases and find it immediately, this tutorial shows you the fastest and easiest way from Libraries Homepage.
Created by Hannah Salings, E-Learning Graduate Assistant.
Published October 19, 2016.
1. If you would like to find out whether the MU Libraries have access to a specific article, go to library.missouri.edu. Under the "Looking For" section, select "a specific article."
2. Enter the citation information for the article you are searching for. Include the journal title (not the article title), volume number, issue number, starting page, and year of publication. If you don't know all of this information, just fill in what you know. Then click "Search."
3. If the article is available in full text online, you will be redirected to the record of the article in a database. The full text access tab below each result.
4. Another way to find a specific article is to go to Ebscohost through Mizzou. On this page, search the article title and any additional information that you may have.
5. If the article is available in full text online, you will be redirected to the record of the article in a database. Look for the PDF or HTML icon to view or download the full text of the article.
5. If the article is available only in print, you will be redirected into the MERLIN catalog record. Select "View additional copies" to view all volumes of the journal.
6. Look under the call number section to find the volume number that contains your article. Write down this call number and go to the specified library to locate the volume, or request it and library staff will retrieve the article for you. This may take a day or two.
7. If the article is not available through MU, select "Request a copy."
8. You will be redirected to the ILL log in page. Enter your University of Missouri username and password to log in.
9. The request form will automatically be filled out for the article you are searching for. Double check this information is correct and click "Submit Request". The article will be scanned by a different library that has the article thanks to a service called interlibrary loan, or ILL.
You will receive an email when the PDF of the article is available for you in your ILL@MU account. This can take a day to a few business days depending on the processing speed of the library.
For further information about requesting articles, check out the ILL@MU Tutorial.
If you'd like further help with finding articles or any other research, you can contact the librarians.
