Suggested database: IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides reports for all of the 723 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts.
Suggested search terms:
You can browse a list of NAICS classifications on IBISWorld here
Recent reports:
Suggested database: Mintel
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access.
Suggested search terms:
In Mintel, you can use keyword search to search for consumers, consumer behaviors, or products. This is a non-exhaustive list of keywords to get you started.
Recent reports:
Suggested database: SimplyAnalytics
Provides over 100,000 data variables for use in creating thematic maps and tables. Data can be viewed by state, congressional district, city, county, ZIP code, census tract or block group. Note: You are not required to create an account. Click Sign in as a guest to access. Only create an account if you want to save your work in the system.
SimplyAnalytics Tutorial: Available in the menu of this website
Suggested Data Categories:
This is a non-exhaustive list of categories to get you started.
Suggested Data Folders:
This is a non-exhaustive list of folders to get you started.
Recent Data Points:
Suggested database: Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Suggested search terms:
Relevant articles:
Suggested database: ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 212 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Suggested search terms:
You can create your own search terms or browse by subject terms
Recent reports:
Suggested database: Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
Suggested search terms:
You can use your own search terms or browse the research topics page
Recent reports:
