State of the YAYA: Where to Start

Topics to consider within entertainment:

• Immersive experiences
• Food and dining
• Movies
• Concerts
• Performers and artists
• Sports
• AI in music

Potential qualitative topics to explore:

• How music releases impact behavior
• Thoughts on music artists

Topics to consider within beauty:

• Image
  • Body image, self image
  • Public image, projected image, curated image
    • Social media vs. Real life
• Fashion
  • Status symbols and luxury brands
  • Fast fashion
  • Small business vs large corporation
  • DIY, thrifting, and upcycling
  • The expanding definition of fashion and status symbols
    • Stanley tumblers
    • Skincare brands
• Anti-aging
  • products, dermatological procedures
  • skincare routines
  • Collagen, retinol, etc.
• Weight loss drugs

Potential qualitative topics to explore:

• The changing status of beauty "dupes", which used to be looked down on
• Where is Gen-Z getting their skincare recommendations?

Topics to consider within work and employment:

• Work arrangement
  • In person, virtual, hybrid
  • Flexible schedule
  • 4 day work week
• Benefits
  • Paid time off
    • Parental leave
    • Holidays
    • Unlimited PTO
  • Insurance
    • Health, vision, dental, life
  • Retirement
  • Childcare
  • Amenities
    • On-site cafeteria, snack bar, or other food options
    • On-site gym or paid gym membership
    • On-site childcare or childcare allowance
    • “Fun” workplace (ping pong tables, bean bag chairs, nap pods)
• Work/life balance
  • Working hours
• Workplace expectations
  • Changing definitions of professionalism
• Job search and application process
  • Finding jobs
    • Job search platforms
    • Professional organization job boards
    • Local job boards
    • Word of mouth
  • Applying online
    • Company page or 3rd party websites
• Job Type
  • Technology, healthcare, education, etc.
  • Corporation/conglomerate vs. Small business
  • National vs. Local companies
  • Self-owned, self-employed
• Motivators
  • Mission driven vs. Salary driven vs. Workstyle driven
• Labor
  • Unionizing the workforce
  • Relationship w/ management

Potential qualitative topics to explore:

• What makes a job appealing to generation Z?
• "Grind" mentality vs. "off the clock, out of mind" mentality

MOJO Ad Issuu Archives:

• 2022
  • Stellarium
  • In the Dark
  • Intertwined in Denim
• 2021
  • Gallery of Now
  • Welcome Home(screen)
  • Metamorphosis
• 2020
  • Under No Illusion Vol. 1: DEPTH
  • Under No Illusion Vol. 2: DUALITY
  • Under No Illusion Vol. 3: TOTALITY

Some links listed in this guide will require a login.

• Your username is your MU pawprint (the part of your email that comes before the @)
• Your password is your MU password (the one you use to login to email)

To find a specific database:

• Go to http://library.missouri.edu/journalism
• Select "All Databases" under "Looking For"
• Enter the name of the database or look for a specific database by Type or Subject

To find a specific article:

• Go to http://library.missouri.edu/journalism
• Select "A Specific Article" under "Looking For"
• If you have the DOI or PMID, use those for an easier search
• Enter the journal title, volume, number, page number, and year

We are the world's first Journalism Library. Founded in 1908, our library serves the students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the MU School of Journalism

About the Journalism Library

• History of the Journalism Library
• Journalism Library Staff
• Library FAQ’s
• Print, Scan, Copy

Maps and Floor Plans

• Maps & floor plans
• Group study rooms

Journalism Library Collections

• Collections
• Collections Descriptions
• Class Reserves