Business, Economics, Non-Profits - Journalism - J4450 Reporting and Writing I - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Find Businesses and Business Information

The Secretary of State's office in each state requires businesses to register. Local news media (newspapers, magazines, news outlets) are excellent sources of local business information. Academic business databases, public library business databases, business and industry organizations and associations are good sources of information for larger businesses. Publicly traded companies often have financial and other corporate information on their websites.

Find Information About Missouri Businesses

Find a Missouri business

Business entity search for Missouri (all businesses in Missouri must register with the Secretary of State)

Find Information about Missouri businesses

Missouri Business Alert - sign up to receive information
Entrepreneurship links from Trulaske School of Business
REDI | Regional Economic Development, Inc.
Columbia Chamber of Commerce

Find Publicly Traded U.S. Businesses

OpenCorporates claims to be the largest database of companies in the world, gathering data from government and publicly available information.

Yahoo Finance an excellent source for company information.

United States Securities & Exchange Commission's Database of Public Company Filings

EDGAR (Securities & Exchange Commission's database of electronic public company filings)

Finding Business Information Online created by the Business/Economics Librarian.

United States Government Agencies Dedicated to Tax Collection, Finance, Economics, & Labor

Global Business & Economic Data Sources

GlobalEDGE - Search global data and insights by country, state, trade bloc, economic classification, industry. From the Broad College of Business at Michigan State University. Requires registration.

Find Business Information in MU Licensed Business Databases

Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
EconLit
Covers information on accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs.
Date Coverage: 1969-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175454
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
IBISWorld
Provides reports for all of the industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). It also includes reports on industries in Australia, Canada, China, Mexico, and the U.K.
Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorial: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/
Mergent Online
Provides immediate access to data on NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *
Mintel
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2001-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Automatic
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records.
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited