English 4250/7250: 19th-Century English Literature: Secrets and Scandals

Use these to find research on publishing, periodicals, reading habits, authorship, book history etc. The boxes below suggest some additional resources and intriguing books.

These 19th Century sources give insight into the marketing and distribution of reading material:

• Bent's Literary Advertiser, Register of Books, Engravings, &c. 1835-1839
• Bookseller: the Organ of the Book Trade 1861-1907 (incomplete) Z6956.G6 M3, stacks 1 West
• The Bookman Directory of Booksellers, Publishers, and Authors

The first chapter of Victorian Publishing, on the use of archival resources, is available online.

For more like this, see:

• Authors And Publishers Great Britain History 19th Century
• Book Industries And Trade Great Britain History 19th Century
• Printing Great Britain History 19th Century
• Publishers And Publishing Great Britain History 19th Century
• Women And Literature Great Britain History 19th Century

Use these resources for quick background information on specific serials:

• Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
  Click on "browse" to search by publication title. This displays extensive introductory material with notes on additional sources.
• Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
  The DNCJ also has very useful background information on periodicals, publishers, editors, printers, distributors, and topics. Click on Browse at the bottom of the search page for a helpful overview.
• Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers & Periodicals: 1800-1900
  The Waterloo Directory provides detailed descriptions of over 70,000 newspapers and magazines, including physical description, prices, related publications, and additional sources of information.
• Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, vol. 4, sec. 16 "Newspapers and Magazines"
  Reference PR83 .N45 1999
• The Nineteenth-Century Periodical Press in Britain: A Bibliography of Modern Studies 1901 to 1971
  lists studies of individual periodicals that may contain useful information.
  Z6956.G6 M3, stacks 1 West
• Victorian Periodicals Newsletter (1968-1978) and Victorian Periodicals Review (1979-present) provide updates.
• Additional resources from the Curran Index.

Victorian Periodicals: A Guide to Research (Reference PN 5124 .P4 V5)

• "Appendix A: A Descriptive Guide to the Contents of the Stamp Returns, 1824-70," indicates where to find records of the tax on periodicals in the parliamentary papers.
• "Appendix B: Some Sample Circulations Derived from the Stamp Returns, 1829-54," provides estimates of circulation derived from the tax returns for a sample of periodicals.

For more like this, see: English Periodicals History 19th Century

Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
The DNCJ has background information on book reviews, reviewers, and reviewing. Click on Browse at the bottom of the search page for a helpful overview.

For more like this, see:

• Authors And Readers Great Britain History 19th Century
• Book Reviewing Great Britain History 19th Century
• Books And Reading Great Britain History 19th Century
• Women Books And Reading Great Britain History 19th Century