Although Discover@MU includes the following databases, you may want to search these directly. Each focus on a more specific area of research and the search interface has special features to facilitate research in this field.
Provides access to articles, books, magazines, and more on dance, theatre, and performing arts.
The following databases are NOT included in Discover@MU. Although not specifically dedicated to theatre, they can give you different angles drawn from a wider selection of resources.
Contains fully cross-searchable texts including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, etc. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues.
Indexes articles from journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.
Provides access to English language literature in reference works, bibliographies, web pages and journals.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology.
Scholarship in the arts and humanities is frequently published in books, either as article-length chapters collected in book volumes, or as "long-form" studies that take up hundreds of pages. Discover@MU and other databases may search the table of contents of books or a brief description, but most don't delve into the full text. The following sites are helpful for searching inside books to find relevant portions. Although copyright restrictions may limit what you can view or download, this helps identify relevant books that we can then find in print.
