Primary Sources - HIST 4971W - History Capstone: Modern French History - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

MU Special Collections

Jacques Flach Collections
Search the MERLIN catalog for items with the following AUTHOR: Jacques Flach Collection, published after 1918.
Interwar Era Posters
Posters on either "France" or "Europe" between 1919-1939. Go to Special Collections to view actual posters.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2015), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) and the Washington Post (1877-2002).
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Specifically contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +
License Terms: http://merlin.missouri.edu/node/418
Search Guide: http://www.jstor.org/help/search.html
HeinOnline
The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. In addition, includes law and law-related periodicals.
Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force.
Date Coverage: 1925-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?

Hathi Trust
Searches full text of millions of books. You can choose to look only at items with full text online, or you can locate items in a library.

Eurodocs: History of France - Primary Documents
Primary source documents organized by historical period
French Women Writers
Full Text database of works by various French Women Writers from the 16th to 20th century.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Look for the sections on France. Some links will be dead but can be Googled.
Liberte Egalite Fraternite
Edited online collection of several hundred documents from the French Revolution in English translation, along with historical essays in English
Napoleon.org
Access in French and English to primary, secondary, and tertiary source material, including some digitized texts, images, and teaching tools.
Revolutionary France - Marxists Internet Archive
Contains linked translated documents from the 1930's Popular Front movement, and other revolutionary and leftist publications, going back to 1789.
YouTube
Add a year to this search for France archival footage to see what you find. Also try France newsreel + year, France speech + year, etc.