Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acceptable citation formats
Any consistent citation format is acceptable, but Dr. Karthas prefers one of these two:
Free Citation Formatting Tools
Quick online citation tool for producing well-formatted citations in several formats.
Full-scale citation management tool that interacts with Word for in-text citations and bibliographies, and provides a space to organize your sources.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography is a list of primary and secondary historical sources surrounding a historical topic. Each entry in the bibliography contains a formal citation of the work, as you would use to cite it when writing a paper, followed by an annotation of perhaps 3-5 sentences which describes and explains the significance of the source to the topic/your understanding of it. Creating an annotated bibliography shows that you have read your sources carefully and have a good sense of how they relate to your topic and to one another.
- Identify and gather the sources that you will use.
- Read each source and take some general notes on it.
- Notes will take a different form for primary and secondary sources, and you may list primary sources separately from secondary sources in your annotated bibliography.
- Make sure that you know how to cite sources in your bibliography correctly. A tool like Zbib (ZoteroBib) can help.
Format of the Annotated Bibliography:
- Each source is listed in correct bibliographic form.
- Sources are listed in alphabetical order by the author's last name. Primary sources are often listed in a separate section from secondary sources.
- Each source is followed by a 3-5 sentence annotation.
What to Include in the Annotation (Secondary sources)
- A sentence or two on the general topic or research question that the work addresses.
- A sentence or two on the thesis or argument of the work.
- A sentence on the author's methodology: What kinds of sources are used? Is it a case study or an overview of scholarship on the subject?
- A sentence on how this source is relevant to your paper topic, or how it makes sense of/adds context to some aspect of your primary source or its author
What to Include in the Annotation (Primary Sources)
- A sentence or two about the source's author (individual or corporate/institutional)
- A sentence or two about the original purpose and/or audience of the source; it may be relevant to mention if the source is part of a larger collection of similar material.
- A sentence summarizing the content and tone of the source.
- A sentence noting information that requires contextualization through secondary sources to understand