Internet of Things: Home

Government Documents Home

Federal Government Databases

Primary Sources

Guides by Level of Government

• International
• US Federal
• Missouri
• Boone County & Columbia
• Other States

Topic Guides

• Census
• Declassified Documents
• Foreign Relations
• More Topic Guides

For Selective FDLs

LEGISATIVE BRANCH GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

• PROQUEST CONGRESSIONAL

Use the Proquest Congressional database to find transcripts of legislative hearings and committee reports on disruptive technologies.  The purpose of such hearings is to gather facts and communicate recommendations to Congress for new or updated legislation.  Below are a few examples of reports discoverable through this database. Also try GovInfo, a freely available federal database that covers some of the same content as Proquest Congressional.

• CRS Report: The Internet of Things (IoT): An Overview (2020)
• Advancing the Internet of Things in Rural America (2017)
• Internet of Things (hearing) 2015
• Internet of Things Cybersecurity Improvement Act 2019
• Call for Regulations on the Internet of Things, 2018 
   
• HEIN ONLINE

A search for "IoT"or "Internet of things" in this database retrieves nearly 24,000 results.  Of particular interest is the Law Journal Library collection, which provides discussion showing how existing laws and regulations are addressing technological innovations.
 

EXECUTIVE BRANCH GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS 

• REGULATIONS.GOV
  On the Regulations.gov website, you can find regulations that are currently in effect (rules), regulations being proposed (notices) and read comments that were sent in by organizations and members of the general public (public submission).  Search for "Internet of Things" to find content related to this topic.  The Regulations.gov help page tells more about the content of the database and how to search for information.
• GOVINFO
  This is the U.S. Government Publishing Office's one-stop shop for federal documents available on the internet.
• OFFICE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNICAL INFORMATION (OSTI)
  Database of over 3 million items includes nearly 700 results for "Internet of Things." Source: U.S. Department of Energy research.

PATENTS AND INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

Patent documents describe in detail technological innovations in order to legally prevent others from copying and profiting from the invention.  Patent documents include detailed claims and drawings.  Here is an example of a patent titled Clustering Devices in an Internet of Things.  All U.S. patents are freely available online, and millions more foreign patents are searchable on Espacenet.

• U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Search Patents
• Espacenet -- Search Patents