Journalism - Subject guide for finding Journalism & Communication E-Books: Home

Used by more than 1.5 million business owners since its original publication, the new edition of this classic how-to guide provides any entrepreneur the tools to create a well-constructed business plan.

Innoliteracy: From Design Thinking to Tangible Change encourages you to allocate resources in the earliest phases of your next development or change project--to the fuzzy front end, where the problem is unveiled and understood, scoped, defined, and challenged, and where the roadmap for how to introduce something new or replace something existing with something better is drawn. The book is based on a series of reflections, experiences, observations, and anecdotes as well as a guide to a better development process, referring to examples, case studies, and existing literature and research. Innoliteracy is for anyone who is engaged in--or even just curious about--change and development processes, especially how they are made more stakeholder-focused, thoroughly framed and reframed, and how one makes sure that the most relevant and imminent problem is addressed.

A hands-on guide for applying research methods to common problems, issues, projects, and questions that communication practitioners deal with on a regular basis, this text demonstrates the relevance of research in professional roles and communication and media careers.

Crises come in many shapes and sizes, including media blunders, social media activism, extortion, product tampering, security issues, natural disasters, accidents, and negligence - just to name a few.

The Handbook of Visual Analysis is a rich methodological resource for students, academics, researchers and professionals interested in investigating the visual representation of socially significant issues.

As straightforward as its title, How to Build Social Science Theories sidesteps the well-traveled road of theoretical examination by demonstrating how new theories originate and how they are elaborated.

This new edition provides a comprehensive overview of current theory and research written by the top theorists and researchers in each area.

Language comprises a major mark of humans compared with other primates and is the main vehicle for social interaction.

This book will help readers understand the practice of qualitative research--whether they want to do it, teach it, or just learn about it.

The definitive step-by step resource for qualitative and ethnographic research Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is a comprehensive guide on both the theoretical foundations and practical application of qualitative methodology.

Teaches the basic, yet all-important, data skills required by today's media professionals.

Master the art and science of data storytelling--with frameworks and techniques to help you craft compelling stories with data.

Audience and media analytics is more important now than ever, and this latest volume in the cutting-edge BEA Electronic Media Research Series collects some of the top scholars working with big data and analytics today.

How to Use SPSS® is designed with the novice computer user in mind and for people who have no previous experience of using SPSS.

Do you want to use R to tell stories? This book was written for you--whether you already know some R or have never coded before.

Translate your data into info-graphics using popular packages in RAbout This Book* Use R's popular packages-such as ggplot2, ggvis, ggforce, and more-to create custom, interactive visualization solutions.*

Many people believe that what is on the Internet will be around forever. At the same time, warnings of an impending "digital dark age"--where records of the recent past become completely lost or inaccessible--appear with regular frequency in the popular press.

A deep dive into the world of online and multimedia longform storytelling, this book charts the renaissance in deep reading, viewing and listening associated with the literary mind, and the resulting implications of its rise in popularity.

Using the Nordic media model as an empirical backdrop, Journalism Between the State and the Marketdefines and analyzes journalism's fundamental problem: its shifting location between the state and the market.

Communicating Ethically provides a broad introduction to the ethical nature of communication. Now in its second edition, the text has been revised to further address current issues, such as: evolving social media and digital platforms, growing cultural communication and discussion of diversity, and the ethics of public discourse.

Ethical Reporting of Sensitive Topics explores the underlying complexities that journalists may face when covering difficult news stories. Reporting on issues such as suicide, sexual abuse, or migration is a skill that is often glossed over in a journalist's education.

Updated to reflect new developments through 2019, the tenth edition of The Law of Public Communication provides an overview of communication and media law that includes the most current legal developments. .

During the first part of the twenty-first century, bloggers, citizen journalists, social media users, Yelp reviewers, and a myriad of other communicators have found themselves facing defamation, privacy, campaign finance, and other lawsuits as a result of the messages they have communicated. In many ways, these communicators are facing legal questions that are similar to what traditional journalists have faced for centuries regarding their rights to gather and publish information.

This fully updated second edition of the popular handbook provides an exploration of thinking on media ethics, bringing together the intellectual history of global mass media ethics over the past 40 years, summarising existing research and setting future agenda grounded in philosophy and social science.

This two-volume, issues-based reference set, available in both print and electronic formats, surveys varied views on many of the most contentious issues involving mass media ethics and the law.

This bestselling all-in-one guide to the event planning business is back and better than ever, fully updated and revised to reflect the very latest trends and best practices in the industry.

Always Get the Name of the Dog is a guide to journalistic interviewing, written by a journalist, for journalists.

Learn best practices from the most trusted name in business and financial reporting The Bloomberg Way is the journalist's guide to covering business, finance and the economy, with authoritative guidance from the editor-in-chief and senior editors of Bloomberg.

Learn best practices from the most trusted name in business and financial reporting The Bloomberg Way is the journalist's guide to covering business, finance and the economy, with authoritative guidance from the editor-in-chief and senior editors of Bloomberg.my.

This practical primer explains the primary issues in writing about the environment, identifies who to go to and where to find sources, and offers examples of writing and reporting the beat.

The definitive reference source on journalism studies for students, researchers, and academics

Theoretically grounded and using quantitative data spanning more than 50 years together with qualitative research, this book examines investigative journalism's role in liberal democracies in the past and in the digital age.

This book provides an introduction to covering crises, considering practice issues and providing guidance in preparing for and responding to calamities.

With a foreword from Michael Schudson, The Rise of Nonprofit Investigative Journalism in the United States examines the rapid growth, impact and sustainability of not-for-profit investigative reporting and its impact on US democracy and mainstream journalism.

The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society discusses media around the world in their varied forms--newspapers, magazines, radio, television, film, books, music, websites, social media, mobile media--and describes the role of each in both mirroring and shaping society.

Trauma Reporting provides vital information on developing a healthy, professional and respectful relationship with those who choose to tell their stories during times of trauma, distress or grief.

There is a war on truth. And the liars are winning. There is an increasingly large number of weapons in the arsenal of the rich, the powerful and the elected to prevent the truth from coming out -- to bury it, warp it, twist it to suit their purposes.

The Charlie Hebdo terrorist attack of January 7, 2015 shook French journalism to the core and reverberated around the world, triggering a cascade of responses from journalists, media outlets, cartoonists and caricaturists from diverse geographies of freedom of expression and journalistic cultures.

This second edition of The Handbook of Journalism Studies explores the current state of research in journalism studies and sets an agenda for future development of the field in an international context.

Taking a thematic approach, this new companion provides an interdisciplinary, cross-cultural, and international study of American literary journalism.

Can we talk about the news media without proclaiming journalism either our savior or the source of all evil? It is not easy to do so, but it gets easier if we put the problems and prospects of journalism in historical and comparative perspective, view them with a sociological knowledge of how newsmaking operates, and see them in a political context that examines how political institutions shape news as well as how news shapes political attitudes and institutions

Based on extended interviews conducted from the Pakistani countryside to Washington, AP Foreign Correspondents in Action from World War II to Today reveals for the first time what it takes to get the stories that brought the world home to America. It gives new frontline insights into major events from the Japanese surrender in 1945 to the 2010s Syrian civil war, and it helps to understand news impact on international affairs through evolving journalistic practices. Both successes and failures through eight decades of foreign correspondence from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe show that public discourse has been best served by correspondents who, at great risk, challenged accepted narratives, exposed omnipresent lies, gave a voice to the voiceless, and stymied the frequently violent efforts of those who feared truth-telling eyewitnesses.

Whether it's the rule-defying lifer, the sharp-witted female newshound, or the irascible editor in chief, journalists in popular culture have shaped our views of the press and its role in a free society since mass culture arose over a century ago.

Journalism, Gender and Power revisits the key themes explored in the 1998 edited collection News, Gender and Power. It takes stock of progress made to date, and also breaks ground in advancing critical understandings of how and why gender matters for journalism and current democratic cultures.

As journalists in Iraq and other hot spots around the world continue to face harrowing dangers and personal threats, neuropsychiatrist Anthony Feinstein offers a timely and important exploration into the psychological damage of those who, armed only with pen, tape recorder, or camera, bear witness to horror.

Women have been important contributors to and readers of magazines since the development of the periodical press in the nineteenth century. By the mid-twentieth century, millions of women read the weeklies and monthlies that focused on supposedly "feminine concerns" of the home, family and appearance.

This book provides a comprehensive and impartial overview of the state of American journalism and news-gathering in the 21st century, with a special focus on the rise--and meaning--of "fake news."

In this graphic guide to media literacy, award-winning educator Sue Ellen Christian offers students an accessible, informed and lively look at how they can consume and create media intentionally and critically.

Fake News: Falsehood, fabrication and fantasy in journalism examines the causes and consequences of the 'fake news' phenomenon now sweeping the world's media and political debates.

The social dynamics of "alternative facts": why what you believe depends on who you know Why should we care about having true beliefs? And why do demonstrably false beliefs persist and spread despite bad, even fatal, consequences for the people who hold them?

Media literacy educators rely on the ability to make use of copyrighted materials from mass media, digital media and popular culture for both analysis and production activities.

There is a war on truth. And the liars are winning. There is an increasingly large number of weapons in the arsenal of the rich, the powerful and the elected to prevent the truth from coming out -- to bury it, warp it, twist it to suit their purposes.

"Mickey Huff and Nolan Higdon emphasize what we can do today to restore the power of facts, truth, and fair, inclusive journalism as tools for people to keep political and corporate power subordinate to the engaged citizenry and the common good."--Ralph Nader The role of news media in a free society is to investigate, inform, and provide a crucial check on political power.

Large sensor video cameras (DSLRs) offer filmmakers an affordable, high-quality image previously impossible without high-end cinema cameras. These video-capable DSLR cameras have revolutionized filmmaking, documentary production, journalism, television, and even Hollywood cinema.

So you want to make a documentary, but think you don't have a lot of time, money, or experience? It's time to get down and dirty! Down and dirty is a filmmaking mindset. It's the mentality that forces you to be creative with your resources.

Documentary, Performance and Risk explores how some of the most significant recent American feature documentaries use performance to dramatically animate major categories of risk.

The third edition of Bill Nichols's best-selling text provides an up-to-date introduction to the most important issues in documentary history and criticism.

Photocommunication Across Media is a must-have for aspiring mass media professionals who are striving to compete in the new landscape of convergence journalism and media.

This book, written in an accessible style with numerous illustrations and with drawings by the author, discusses what brands are and the role brands play in American society and consumer cultures, in general. The book uses a cultural studies approach and draws upon concepts and theories from semiotics, psychoanalytic theory, sociological theory, discourse theory, and other related fields.

Now in its third edition, Cases in Public Relations Management uses recent cases in strategic communication designed to encourage discussion, debate, and exploration of the options available to today's strategic public relations manager, with the help of extensive supplemental materials.

How Propaganda Became Public Relations pulls back the curtain on propaganda: how it was born, how it works, and how it has masked the bulk of its operations by rebranding itself as public relations. Cory Wimberly uses archival materials and wide variety of sources -- Foucault's work on governmentality, political economy, liberalism, mass psychology, and history -- to mount a genealogical challenge to two commonplaces about propaganda. First, modern propaganda did not originate in the state and was never primarily located in the state; instead, it began and flourished as a for-profit service for businesses.

The industry of public relations is rapidly evolving, requiring practitioners to have greater specialization than ever before. Hand in hand with the growth of the industry, educational programs have developed to address the growing need for quality preparation for future practitioners. Public Relations: Competencies and Practice focuses on the required competencies expected and applications of public relations into specific sectors of practice.

From pitches and press releases to news and feature stories to social media writing and more, this new book by author Whitney Lehmann and a handful of experienced contributors breaks down the most widely used types of public relations writing needed to become a PR pro.

Public relations has been swift to grasp social media, yet its impact on public relations practice remains relatively unexplored..

Excellence in public relations begins with excellence in education in public relations programs, and this book presents a comprehensive, cohesive, and concrete approach for effective teaching and learning in PR classes.

Balancing skills and theory, Principles of Public Speaking, 19th Edition, emphasizes orality, internet technology, and critical thinking as it encourages the reader to see public speaking as a way to build community in today's diverse world.

Scientific research uses concepts (or constructs) and requires means to measure them.

The second edition of this highly accessible, core textbook continues to offer students a practical guide to the process of planning, undertaking and writing about qualitative research in public relations and marketing communications.

This book, written in an accessible style with numerous illustrations and with drawings by the author, discusses what brands are and the role brands play in American society and consumer cultures, in general.

This book provides case studies, many incorporating in-depth interviews and surveys of journalists. It examines issues such as journalists' attitudes toward their contributions to society; the impact of industry and technological changes; culture and minority issues in the newsroom and profession; the impact of censorship and self-censorship; and coping with psychological pressures and physical safety dilemmas.

Built on the hands-on reporting style and curriculum pioneered by the University of Missouri, this introductory textbook teaches students how to write about and communicate with people of backgrounds that may be different from their own, offering real-world examples of how to practice excellent journalism and strategic communication that take culture into account.

Ethnic media are media produced for, and frequently by, immigrants, ethnic and linguistic minority groups, and indigenous populations.

This book examines the complex and multidimensional relationship between culture and social media, and its specific impact on issues of identity and social movements, in a globalized world. Contemporary cyber culture involves communication among people who are culturally, nationally, and linguistically similar or radically different.

International Management and Intercultural Communication consists of cases of direct observation and personal involvement in a wide variety of communication challenges in international management settings; and discusses them in terms of management theories.

A real-world how-to manual for talking about race in the classroom Educators and activists frequently call for the need to address the lingering presence of racism in higher education.

This collection brings together pedagogical memoirs on significant topics regarding teaching race in college, including student resistance, whiteness, professor identity, and curricula.

Become more culturally competent in an increasingly diverse world Recent years have seen dramatic changes to several institutions worldwide. Our increasingly interconnected, digitized, and globalized world presents immense opportunities and unique challenges.

The rise of blogs and social media provide a public platform for people to share information online.

Social Network Analytics: Computational Research Methods and Techniques focuses on various technical concepts and aspects of social network analysis.

Analyzing Analytics: Disrupting Journalism One Click at a Time critically examines how journalists use web analytics in their work and the implications of that use.

Mobile and Social Media Journalism the Democratization of Informationand Knowledge considers various aspects of Mobileand Social Media Journalism including an extensive overview ofjournalism and related issues.

The Social Media Journalist Handbook teaches readers how to be a real-world social media journalist, tracing the evolution of the field to its current-day practice.

This companion brings together scholars working at the intersection of media and class, with a focus on how understandings of class are changing in contemporary global media contexts.

Television Field Production and Reporting provides an exciting introduction to the art of visual storytelling.

Hundreds of newspapers and magazines published by socialists, anarchists, and the Industrial Workers of the World in the years before World War I offered sharp critiques of the emerging corporate state that remain relevant in light of gaping twenty-first-century social inequity. Black, White, and Red All Over offers the first comprehensive narrative to explore the central role that a broad swathe of social movement media played in radical movements, stirring millions of Americans a century ago.