Skip to Main Content

Animal Species: Guide to Finding Information

eResources

Missouri Field guides
Online field guides for Missouri animals and plants.
Missouri Fish and Wildife Information System
Information about more than 900 Missouri species.

Print books

The Wild Mammals of Missouri by Schwartz, Charles Walsh
Call Number: QL719.M8 S3 2001
Ellis Library Reference
Birds in Missouri
Call Number: QL684.M8 J33 2001
Ellis Library Reference
Ellis Library 2 Central
The Amphibians and Reptiles of Missouri by Johnson, Tom R.
Call Number: QL 653 .M8J64 1987
Ellis Library Reference
Ellis Library 2 Central
The Fishes of Missouri
Call Number: QL 628 .M8P47 1997
Ellis Library Reference
Ellis Library 2 Central
Butterflies and Moths of Missouri
Call Number: QL 551 .M8H45 1987
Ellis Library Reference
Ellis Library 2 Central
Birds of Missouri: Their Distribution and Abundance
Call Number: QL 684 .M8R6 1992
Ellis Library Reference

Databases for locating articles

Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1971-date
Maximum Users: 1
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
License Terms: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/nisclicense.htm
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered.
Date Coverage: 1935-date

Maximum Users: 5

Truncation:
*

License Terms: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/nisclicense.htm
Zoological Record
Provides access to worldwide zoological literature, including all major areas of the field: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography.
Date Coverage: 1985-present

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Auto Update: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175486

Truncation:
Truncation: *

Google Scholar
Search using Missouri and the common or genus name plus additional keywords like life history, life cycle, taxonomy, morphology, reproduction, ecology or physiology.

The above images are in the public domain and are from the National Digital Library of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Last Updated: Jun 1, 2023 5:09 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/animalspecies
Print Page