ACVECC
This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
From the ACVECC Reading List 2021:
"The following list of references contain the material that residents/ fellows are expected to learn with retention and comprehension during their training. To facilitate this, a recent edition of appropriate resources from each section must be provided on site at each Residency Training Facility. Computer access to the common veterinary and human medical databases must also be available on site at each Residency Training Facility.
"Large Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from the calendar year 2016-2020, and book titles published during or before 2020, and the Large Animal Additional article list.
"Small Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2018-2020, and book titles published during or before 2020, and the Small Animal Additional article list.
"Both Large Animal (LA)and Small Animal (SA) candidates sitting the General MCQ examination in September 2020 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2018-2020, and the journal articles that appear in both the Small Animal and Large Animal additional article lists.
"Please note that expected knowledge is duplicated in many of these references: it is not necessary or expected that residents will be familiar with every text listed. However, several suitable texts are listed to ensure that residents have access to all pertinent information. For each knowledge category in the Required Reading List, at least one edition of a textbook that covers the appropriate species of interest and is published within the last 10 years should be available for study and reference.
"The [Supplemental Reading List contains] reading materials that can also be reviewed in these topic areas for the species of interest."
Source: ACVECC Knowledge List 2020, Recommendation Reading Lists, American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care
This resource updated: 03/24/2021
Source reading list reviewed: 3/24/2021
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2021
"Articles germane to the field of veterinary emergency and critical care for the appropriate species should be reviewed from the following journals:"
Updated 4/15/2020
LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings
Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Clinical Pathology | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Hematology and Transfusion Medicine | Imaging | Infectious Diseases | Internal Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Nutrition | Oncology | Ophthalmology | Pediatrics | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology
Equine Anesthesia by 
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by 
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia ONLINE by 
Cardiovascular Disease in Small Animal Medicine by 
Cardiology of the Horse by 
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by 
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine: Clinical Pathology by 
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology by 
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods by 
Marino's the ICU Book by 
Critical Care Medicine by 
Textbook of Critical Care by 
The Equine Hospital Manual by 
Equine Emergencies: Treatment and Procedures by 
Equine Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by 
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by 
Textbook of Small Animal Emergency Medicine by 
Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Procedures by 
Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by 
Monitoring and Intervention for the Critically Ill Small Animal ONLINE by 
Veterinary emergency and critical care manual by 
Small Animal Critical Care Medicine by 
Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid-Base Physiology by 
Clinical Physiology of Acid-Base and Electrolyte Disorders by 
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice by 
Manual of Veterinary Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking by 
Textbook of Veterinary Diagnostic Radiology by 
Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner by 
Equine Infectious Diseases by 
Infectious Diseases of the Horse: Diagnosis, Pathology, Management, and Public Health by 
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by 
Equine Internal Medicine by 
Large Animal Internal Medicine by 
Robinson's Current Therapy in Equine Medicine (7) by 
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine Expert Consult by 
Clinical Canine and Feline Respiratory Medicine by 
Textbook of Respiratory Disease in Dogs and Cats by 
Canine and Feline Gastroenterology by 
Canine and Feline Endocrinology by 
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation by 
Mechanical Ventilation by 
Pilbeam's Mechanical Ventilation: Physiological and clinical applications by 
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation by 
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by 
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by 
Berne and Levy Physiology by 
Cunningham's Textbook of Veterinary Physiology by 
Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology by 
Handbook of Veterinary Neurology by 
Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology by 
Small Animal Neurological Emergencies by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Neurology by 
Nutritional Management of Hospitalized Small Animals ONLINE by 
Withrow and MacEwen's Small Animal Clinical Oncology by 
Essentials of Veterinary Ophthalmology by 
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by 
Small Animal Pediatrics: The First 12 Months of Life by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Reproduction and Neonatology by 
Canine Reproduction and Neonatology by 
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology by 
Equine Surgery by 
Small Animal Surgery by 
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by 
Veterinary Toxicology by 
Clinical Veterinary Toxicology by 
Small Animal Toxicology by 
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion by "This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually. Multiple articles have been removed from this list compared to the 2014 version. This is not because the committee no longer feels these are important, but rather because the recently published second edition of Silverstein DC & Hopper K, Small Animal Critical Care Medicine 2015 has incorporated many of these articles into its citations.
"Please also be aware that while the majority of the questions on the examination will be based on literature from the additional article list and the recommended reading list some questions may reference other appropriate sources pertinent to our specialty."
Updated 5/6/2020
"This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10-12 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually. Large animal candidates should appreciate that the majority of these articles are non-species specific and shared with small animal candidates. This means that they can be used for questions on the general multiple-choice exam."
Updated 5/7/2020
