Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research by 
The Illusion of Public Opinion (print) by 
Making Sense of Public Opinion (print) by 
New Directions in Public Opinion (print) by 
The Oxford Handbook of Polling and Survey Methods by 
Public Opinion by 
The SAGE handbook of public opinion research by 
Studies in Public Opinion - Attitudes, Nonattitudes, Measurement Error, and Change by 
Survey Methodology by 
Understanding Public Opinion by 
Understanding Public Opinion Polls by 
Where Did You Get This Number? by 
Applied Communication Research Methods by
Applied Communication Research Methods: Getting Started as a Researcher demonstrates how to apply concepts to research problems, issues, projects, and questions that communication practitioners face every day.
Communication Research Measures III by
Building on the measures included in the original 1994 volume and subsequent 2009 volume, Communication Research Measures III: A Sourcebook extends its coverage of measurement issues and trends across the entire communication discipline. Volume III features entirely new content and offers an assessment of new measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, group, organizational, family, health, and intercultural communication and highlights work in emergent subdisciplines in communication, including social media and new communication technologies, sports communication, and public relations. The "best of the best" from 2009 through today, the profiled research measures in Volume III serve as models for future scale development and constitute the main tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people's attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others. This book is ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses that emphasize quantitative research methods, measurement, and/or survey design across communication studies disciplines.
Communication Research Methodology by
This introduction to communication research methods takes the student from the conceptual beginnings of a research project through the design and analysis.
Constructing Research Questions by
All researchers want to produce interesting and influential theories. A key step in all theory development is formulating innovative research questions that will result in interesting and significant research.
Contemporary Research Methods and Data Analytics in the News Industry by
The advent of digital technologies has changed the news and publishing industries drastically. While shrinking newsrooms may be a concern for many, journalists and publishing professionals are working to reorient their skills and capabilities to employ technology for the purpose of better understanding and engaging with their audiences.
Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research by
Preface -- Introduction -- The three-step procedure to design requests for an answer -- Concepts-by-postulation and concepts-by-intuition -- From social science concepts-by-intuition to assertions -- The formulation of requests for an answer -- Choices involved in questionnaire design -- Specific survey research features of requests for an answer -- Response alternatives -- The structure of open-ended and closed survey items -- Survey items in batteries -- Mode of data collection and other choices -- The effects of survey characteristics on data quality -- Criteria for the quality of survey measures -- Estimation of reliability, validity and method effects -- Split ballot mtmm designs -- Mtmm experiments and the quality of survey questions -- Applications in social science research -- The sqp 2.0 program for prediction of quality and the -- Improvement of measurement -- The quality of measures for concepts-by-postulation -- Correction for measurement errors -- Coping with measurement error in cross-cultural research -- References -- Index.
Doing Qualitative Research Differently by
Hollway and Jefferson have updated their ground-breaking book for students and researchers looking to do qualitative research differently. The new edition critically reviews many of the assumptions, claims and methods of qualitative research and also acts as a `how to' guide to the method the authors call the Free Association Narrative Interview.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Measurements and Statistics. In fields as varying as education, politics and health care, assessment and the use of measurement and statistics have become an integral part of almost every activity undertaken.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by
Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato. However, modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by
When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession.
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Research design, with its statistical underpinnings, can be especially daunting for students and novice researchers. At its heart, research design might be described simply as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge, the success of which depends upon clearly defined objectives and appropriate choice of statistical design and analysis to meet those objectives.
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication by
The explosion of scientific information is exacerbating the information gap between richer/poorer, educated/less-educated publics.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement by
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process. Articles include examples and applications of research strategies and techniques, highlighting multidisciplinary options for observing social phenomena. The alphabetical arrangement of the articles, their glossaries and cross-references, and the volumes' detailed index will encourage exploration across the social sciences. Descriptions of important data sets and case studies will help readers understand resources they can often instantly access. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by
To the uninformed, surveys appear to be an easy type of research to design and conduct, but when students and professionals delve deeper, they encounter the vast complexities that the range and practice of survey methods present.
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research by
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research provides both novice and experienced researcher with valuable insights into a key list of critical texts pertaining to a wide array of social science methods useful when doing fieldwork.
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research by
A Handbook of Media and Communication Researchpresents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities.
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research by
"A Handbook of Media and Communication Research is a standard reference work for students and researchers in the fields of media, communication, and cultural studies, integrating perspectives from the social sciences and the humanities, and focusing on methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical applications with theoretical issues. The Handbook comprises three main elements: historical accounts of the development of key concepts and research traditions systematic reviews of media organizations, discourses, and users, as well as of the wider social and cultural contexts of communication practical guidelines with sample studies, taking readers through the different stages of a research process, and reflecting on the social uses and consequences of research. The third edition of the Handbook has been thoroughly revised, and includes: An updated overview of the interrelations between networked, mass, and interpersonal communication. A new chapter on digital methods. Three chapters illustrating different varieties of media and communication research, including industry-academic collaboration and participatory action research. Presentation and discussion of public issues such as surveillance and the reconfiguration of local and global media institutions"--
A Handbook of Qualitative Methodologies for Mass Communication Research by
First published in 1991. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Reserach by
This volume provides an overview of communication study, offering theoretical coverage of the broad scope of communication study as well as integrating theory with research.
Interpreting Quantitative Data by
How do quantitative methods help us to acquire knowledge of the real world? What are the `do's' and `don'ts' of effective quantitative research? This refreshing and accessible book provides students with a novel and useful resource for doing quantitative research.
Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research.
Qualitative Research from Start to Finish by
This lively, practical text presents a fresh and comprehensive approach to doing qualitative research. The book offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customizing every phase of a qualitative study.
Qualitative Research Methods for Media Studies by
Qualitative Research Methods for Media Studies provides students and researchers with the tools they need to perform critically engaged, theoretically informed research using methods that include interviewing, focus groups, historical research, oral histories, ethnography and participant observation, textual analysis and online research. Each chapter features step-by-step instructions that integrate theory with practice, as well as a case study drawn from published research demonstrating best practices for media scholars.
Qualitative Research Methods in Consumer Psychology by
While consumer research is founded on traditional quantitative approaches, the insight produced through qualitative research methods within consumer settings has not gone unnoticed. The culturally situated consumer, who is in intimate dialogue with their physical, virtual and social surroundings, has become integral to understanding the psychology behind consumer choices.
Quantitative Research Methods in Communication by
"This textbook is an advanced introduction to quantitative methods for students in communication and allied social science disciplines that focuses on why and how to conduct research that contributes to social justice. Today's researchers are inspired by the potential for scholarship to make a difference for society, to push toward more just and equitable ends, and to inform members of the public so that they can make decisions about how to navigate the social, cultural, and political world equipped with accurate, fair, and up-to-date knowledge. This book illustrates the mechanics and the meaning behind quantitative research methods by drawing extensively from studies conducted by researchers addressing questions of social justice and the transformation of structures, practices, and understandings in society through community and civic engagement and policy formation. It contains step-by-step guidance in quantitative methods--from conceptualization through all the stages of execution of a study--and demonstrates how researchers can engage with social justice issues in systematic, rigorous, ethical, and meaningful ways. This text serves as a core or supplementary textbook for graduate and advanced undergraduate courses in research methods for communication and social sciences and fills a gap for a methods text that is responsive to the desire of scholars to conduct socially impactful research"--
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative methods are central to research conducted in Education, Nursing, Sociology, Anthropology, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences and health sciences.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data.
The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods by
This book captures the state of the art in visual research. Margolis and Pauwels have brought together, in one volume, a unique survey of the field of visual research that will be essential reading for scholars and students across the social sciences, arts and humanities. The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods encompasses the breadth and depth of the field, and points the way to future research possibilities. It illustrates ′cutting edge′ as well as long-standing and recognized practices. This book is not only ′about′ research, it is also an example of the way that the visual can be incorporated into data collection and the presentation of research findings. Chapters describe a methodology or analytical framework, its strengths and limitations, possible fields of application and practical guidelines on how to apply the method or technique. The Handbook is organized into seven main sections: - Framing the Field of Visual Research - Producing Visual Data and Insight - Participatory and Subject-Centered Approaches - Analytical Frameworks and Approaches - Visualization Technologies and Practices - Moving Beyond the Visual - Options and Issues for Using and Presenting Visual Research. Eric Margolis is an Associate Professor in the Hugh Downs School of Human Communication. He is President of the International Visual Sociology Association. Luc Pauwels is Professor of Visual Culture at the University of Antwerp. He is Chair of the Visual Communication Studies Division of the ICA and Vice-President of the International Visual Sociology Association (IVSA).
Social Research by
Original, fresh and relevant this is a theoretically-informed practical guide to researching social relations. The text provides a mixed methods approach that challenges historical divisions between quantitative and qualitative research.
Understanding Communication Research Methods by
Comprehensive, innovative, and focused on the undergraduate student, this textbook prepares students to read and conduct research.
