Library Guides: Physics &amp; astronomy: guide for graduate students and faculty: Finding...

Articles

Scopus
Search over 21,500 peer reviewed journals 1970 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
arXiv
An open archive for scholarly articles in many areas of science including physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, etc.
Open Access.
Engineering Village
Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences).
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
User's Guide: http://ei.org/Support_Training
IEEE Xplore
Access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
IOPScience
An online service for all journal content published by the Institute of Physics. Also includes pre-prints from eprintweb.org (a free service, based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorial and news from IOP community websites.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1874-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation & Wildcard *
American Institute of Physics Journals
Contains full-text coverage of most AIP journals, including a growing sector of Open Access titles, that cover all areas of the physical sciences. Specific coverage varies according to journal.
Date Coverage: Varies by title.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Astro-ph
Astrophysics portion of arXiv. Includes Astrophysics of Galaxies, Cosmology and Nongalactic Astrophysics, Earth and Planetary Astrophysics, High Energy Astrophysical Phenomena, Instrumentation and Methods for Astrophysics and Solar and Stellar Astrophysics,

Books

O'Reilly
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Date Coverage Varies

Maximum Users Unlimited

Ebooks@MU

Search Book Content

Google Books
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
HathiTrust
The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities. Access provided by the University of Missouri Graduate School.

Libraries Guide to Dissertations and Theses

Handbooks, encyclopedia & more

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 84th edition

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
AIP Style Manual
print copy: Ellis Library Reference QC 61 .P49 2003
AIP Physics Desk Reference (print)
Dictionary of Physics (print)
Encyclopedia of Physics (print)
Astronomy Image Explorer
Provides quick and easy access to images, illustrations, graphs, charts, and videos that have been published in peer-reviewed journals
GradSchoolShopper: Graduate Programs in Physics, Astronomy and Related Fields
American Institute of Physics

Journal impact factors & rankings

Find journal impact factors and rankings within discipline by impact factors

Journal Citation Reports
Source of journal impact factors and subject category rankings for journals indexed in the Web of Science database.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1997- date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorials: http://jcr.help.clarivate.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/Content/training-videos.htm
User Guide http://clarivate.libguides.com/home