Library Guides: MBA Research Resources: Company Research

Company Research

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector.
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited
Mergent Online
Updated weekly. Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, etc.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva

EDGAR
Provides financial reports, 10-Ks, 10-Qs, DEF 14As, etc., filed with the SEC (Securities & Exchange Commission).

Reference Solutions
Includes 45 million+ U.S. businesses and 150 million U.S. residents; useful for developing lists of potential customers, competitors, and suppliers.
You must have a Columbia Public Library card and can apply for one either in person or online. Go to http://www.dbrl.org/using-the-library for information.

Librarian

Gwen Gray

Email Me

Contact:

172 Ellis Library
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO
65201

573-882-9162

Subjects: Accounting, Agricultural Economics, Business, Business & Economics: Management, Company Information, Economics, Entrepreneurship and Small Business, Finance, Hospitality Management, Industry Information, Marketing, Textile & Apparel Management