Forestry

The Missouri Department of Conservation cooperates with the Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program of the U.S. Forest Service (USFS) to provide the information needed to assess Missouri and America's forests.

The National Forest Service Library provides access to electronic journals and bibliographic databases, current literature alerting, reference, and more.
Note: There are many open resources available, but some resources and services may not be accessible to the public.

The digital collection contains historic scans of documents, reports, photographs, audio files, and non-peer-reviewed Forest Service publications.

The RNGR website was developed by the technical specialists of the Reforestation, Nurseries and Genetic Resources program, whose mission is to supply people who grow forest and conservation seedlings with the very latest technical information and other useful resources.

The FIA Program collects, analyzes, and reports information on the status and trends of America's forests.

The National Agricultural Library (NAL) houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and related sciences.

i-Tree is a software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban and rural forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. The i-Tree tools can help strengthen forest management and advocacy efforts by quantifying forest structure and the environmental benefits that trees provide. i-Tree tools are freely accessible.

FIRMS provides access to satellite imagery, active fire/hotspots, and geospatial data to identify the location, extent and intensity of wildfire activity.

Research and publications from the U.S. Forest Service.

The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides full and open access to NASA’s collection of Earth science data for understanding and protecting the planet.