Library Guides: Environmental Science: Data & National Resources

Data

Environmental Dataset Gateway (EPA)
Allows access to EPA's Open Data resources.
EnviroFacts (EPA)
Retrieve datasets and information on a variety of environmental topics, and learn about other tools for environmental research.
Climate Data Online
NOAA's Climate Data Online provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.
Climate TRACE
Independent greenhouse gas emissions tracking with interactive emissions maps, comparison tools, case studies, and downloadable data.
U.S. Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse
Downloadable data collected and managed by Forest Service programs.

Global & International Data

International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database
Provides a "single source" repository for most information related to International Environmental Agreements (IEAs) and the evaluation of their influence. View agreements, country memberships, and datasets.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): Environment
View environmental resources, publications, and international data. Search by country or topic.
GeoHive
Ireland's national geospatial data hub. View maps, data, and information for topics such as housing, environment, transport, and health.
Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP)
CCKP was created by the World Bank Group to provide global data on historical and future climate, vulnerabilities, and impacts.
IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library
IRI Data Library is a free data repository and analysis tool that allows a user to view, analyze, and download hundreds of terabytes of climate-related data through a standard web browser.
UNData
Search datasets from the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).
Emission Factor Database (EFDB)
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)'s EFDB allows users to find emission factors and other parameters with background documentation or technical references.

National Resources

Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
more...less...
To view information about government entities -- such as DOE, EPA, NSF, USDA, USGS, USFWS -- click the logo or search the acronym.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA)
NCEI is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of geophysical data and information.
more...less...
Part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Formerly the National Geophysical Data Center.
U.S. Geological Survey
Provides an array of earth, water, biological, and mapping data to support decision-making on environmental, resource, and public safety issues. View climate data, read publications, explore tools, and more.
National Geologic Map Database
Standardized geologic maps of the United States. View geologic charts, topographic collections, and more.
FedCenter
An all-services technical and compliance assistance center to help federal environmental officials address environmental needs.
more...less...
The Federal Facilities Environmental Stewardship and Compliance Assistance Center is a joint initiative of EPA's Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance (OECA), the Army Corps of Engineers' Construction Engineering Research Laboratory, and the Office of the Federal Environmental Executive.

Laws & Regulations

EPA Laws & Regulations
View the Environmental Protection Agency's laws and regulations.
Environmental Law: A Beginner's Guide
Created by the Law Library of Congress, this guide provides resources on environmental law, including general resources, federal legislative and regulatory information, and information about state environmental legal research.
Global Legal Monitor: Environment
View items added to the Library of Congress' Global Legal Monitor collection related to the environment.