Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice by
The definitive guide to architectural practice Business, legal, and technical trends in architecture are constantly changing. The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice has offered firms the latest guidance on those trends since 1920. The Fifteenth Edition of this indispensable guide features nearly two-thirds new content and covers all aspects of contemporary practice, including updated material on: Small-firm practice, use of technologies such as BIM, and project delivery methods, such as IPD and architect-led design-build Career development and licensure for emerging professionals and state-mandated continuing education for established architects Business management topics, such as organizational development, marketing, finance, and human resources Research as an integrated aspect of architectural practice, featuring such topics as evidence-based design and research in a small-firm context The Fifteenth Edition of The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice includes access to a website that contains samples of all AIA Contract Documents (in PDF format for Mac and PC computers). With comprehensive coverage of contemporary practices in architecture, as well as the latest developments and trends in the industry, The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice continues to be the essential reference for every architect who must meet the challenges of today's marketplace with insight and confidence.
Architectural Graphics by
The bestselling guide to architectural drawing, with new information, examples, and resources Architectural Graphics is the classic bestselling reference by one of the leading global authorities on architectural design drawing, Francis D.K. Ching. Now in its sixth edition, this essential guide offers a comprehensive introduction to using graphic tools and drafting conventions to translate architectural ideas into effective visual presentations, using hundreds of the author's distinctive drawings to illustrate the topic effectively. This updated edition includes new information on orthographic projection in relation to 3D models, and revised explanations of line weights, scale and dimensioning, and perspective drawing to clarify some of the most difficult concepts. New examples of modern furniture, APA facilities, and presentation layout provide more up-to-date visuals, and the Reference Center features all new animations, videos, and practice exercises. Architectural graphics are key tools for conveying design through representation on paper or on screen, and this book is the ultimate guide to mastering the skill, then applying your talent to create more effective design communication. Understand multiview, paraline, and perspective drawing Master interior sections using a variety of techniques Render tonal value, enhance depth, and convey illumination Develop professional-quality layouts for presentations Architectural graphics both inform the design process and serve as the means by which a design is interpreted and built. Complete mastery of the tools and conventions is essential to the successful outcome of any project, and mistakes can cause confusion, time delays, increased costs, and possible catastrophe. Architectural Graphics is the comprehensive guide to professional architectural drawing, with insight from a leading authority in the field.
Building Construction Illustrated by
The classic visual guide to the basics of building construction,now with a 3D digital building model for interactive learning For over three decades, Building Construction Illustrated has offered an outstanding introduction to the principles of building construction. This new edition of the revered classic remains as relevant as ever, providing the latest information in Francis D.K. Ching's signature style. Its rich and comprehensive approach clearly presents all of the basic concepts underlying building construction. New to this edition are digital enhancements delivered as an online companion to the print edition and also embedded in e-book editions. Features include a 3D model showing how building components come together in a final project. llustrated throughout with clear and accurate drawings that present the state of the art in construction processes and materials Updated and revised to include the latest knowledge on sustainability, incorporation of building systems, and use of new materials Contains archetypal drawings that offer clear inspiration for designers and drafters Reflects the 2012 International Building Codes and 2012 LEED system This new edition of Building Construction Illustrated remains as relevant as ever, with the most current knowledge presented in a rich and comprehensive manner that does not disappoint.
Atlas of Digital Architecture
Digital technology and architecture have become inseparable, with new approaches and methodologies not just affecting the workflows and practice of architects but shaping the very character of architecture. This compendious work offers a wide-ranging orientation to the new landscape with its opportunities, its challenges, and its vast potential. Contributing Editors: Ludger Hovestadt, Urs Hirschberg, Oliver Fritz Contributors: Diana Alvarez-Marin, Jakob Beetz, André Borrmann, Petra von Both, Harald Gatermann, Marco Hemmerling, Ursula Kirschner, Reinhard König, Dominik Lengyel, Bob Martens, Frank Petzold, Sven Pfeiffer, Miro Roman, Kay Römer, Hans Sachs, Philipp Schaerer, Sven Schneider, Odilo Schoch, Milena Stavric, Peter Zeile, Nikolaus Zieske Writer: Sebastian Michael atlasofdigitalarchitecture.com
Interior Design Illustrated by
The bestselling guide to interior design, updated with new code and technology Interior Design Illustrated is the definitive guide to design for interior spaces. Richly illustrated in author Francis Ching's signature style, this book introduces complex design concepts in a visually stunning format; from defining the space and using the elements of design, to planning building systems and incorporating sustainable materials, this volume embodies the idea that beauty and function are not separate entities, but two parts of a whole. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest building codes and design practices, with discussion of new materials related to acoustics, lighting, and sustainable furnishings. Renewed attention to sustainability includes new information on energy conservation, design for longevity and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, as well as an updated discussion on LED lighting, workplace design, use of color, and computer modeling software to provide a well-rounded view of how interior design firms are working today. This classic text brings the elements and principles of design to life, giving students the practical skills they need to transition from idea to concept. Understand the latest building codes and how to integrate them into your design Explore new advances in materials, lighting, and wireless technology Design from a perspective of sustainability, longevity, and energy efficiency Delve into BIM, including software for modeling lighting, acoustics, and more Interior designers work at the intersection of aesthetics, functionality, regulations, accessibility, sustainability, and technology. There's no one formula for getting it right, only an eye trained by experience, based on a mastery of design fundamentals. Interior Design Illustrated begins laying that foundation, guided by a leading global authority in the field.
Interior Design Visual Presentation by
A newly updated and comprehensive guide to all aspects of visual design From doing a quick sketch to producing a fully rendered model, the ability to create visual representations of designs is a critical skill for every designer. Interior Design Visual Presentation, Fifth Edition offers thorough coverage of interior design communication used throughout the design process, complete with a broad range of real-world examples. This fully updated handbook presents a full range of styles and techniques used for interior design visual communication, from hand drawing to 3D computer modeling. Its accessible, how-to approach guides you through a variety of methods for executing creative and successful design graphics, models, and presentations. Recognizing the ongoing proliferation of digital tools for visual representation, this edition provides the latest information on software used in presentation such as Photoshop, and SketchUp, and covers the integration of Revit, and AutoCAD generated content into design presentations. * Covers all aspects of visual design and presentation for interior designers * Includes color illustrations that feature a wide range of project types including residential, healthcare and public projects, designed to highlight step-by-step instructions * Provides a discussion of incorporation of 3D digital models into presentations including use in virtual reality, and expanded information on scale models including a discussion of 3D printing * Includes a companion website for instructors, featuring PowerPoint lecture slides and an instructor's manual From traditional to cutting-edge techniques, Interior Design Visual Presentation, Fifth Edition gives students and professionals alike the tools to give life to their design vision.
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors by
Interior codes and standards reference of choice for designers and architects, updated and revised Completely revised and updated, the seventh edition of The Codes Guidebook to Interiors is the only book devoted exclusively to codes that are applicable to interior designers. The guide features jargon-free explanations of all the codes and standards that are relevant to designers and architects, including performance codes, building and finish standards, energy codes, and ADA standards. In addition, the dozens of examples and a greatly enhanced with a set of illustrations, including floor plans, that clearly show how codes apply to real-world project. Written by Katherine E. Kennon (a professional architect and facilities planner) and Sharon Koomen Harmon (a professional interior designer and educator) are experts on interior design and architecture codes. Updated coverage contains the most recent ICC codes, including the International Building Code and new material on the ICC International Green Construction Code, as well as the NFPA's most recent Life code. The authors address a wide-variety of building and project types (large and small) and they offer information on single family homes and historical and existing buildings. The seventh edition includes: Easy-to-navigate format geared toward the code process as a whole A step-by-step guide through the codes relevant at each stage in the design process The newest changes to the ADA Standards and ICC/ASI accessibility requirements A companion site that offers interactive checklists, flashcards, PowerPoint lecture slides, and an Instructor's Manual Having all applicable codes in a single resource saves hours of research time, and can dramatically reduce the potential for costly planning oversights. Whether renovation or new construction, small or large, codes apply to every project. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors provides designers with the comprehensive information they need to stay up-to-date.
Building Codes Illustrated by
THE BESTSELLING, FULLY ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO THE 2018 INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE Uniquely marrying the graphic skills of bestselling author Francis D.K Ching with the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA, the new sixth edition of Building Codes Illustrated is a clear, concise, and easy-to-use visual guide to the International Building Code (IBC) for 2018. Fully updated throughout, it highlights all of the changes to the code for quick reference and easy navigation. It pulls out the portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations. The first two chapters of Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2018 International Building Code, Sixth Edition give background and context regarding the development, organization, and use of the IBC. The following sections cover such information as: use and occupancy; building heights and areas; types of construction; fire-resistive construction; interior finishes; means of egress; accessibility; energy efficiency; roof assemblies; structural provisions; special inspections and tests; soils and foundations; building materials and systems; and more. A complete, user-friendly guide to code-compliant projects Highlights all the significant changes in the 2018 IBC Uses clear language and Frank Ching's distinctive illustrations to demystify the 2018 International Build Code (IBC) text Provides students and professionals with a fundamental understanding of IBC development, interpretation, and application Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2018 International Building Code gives students and professionals in architecture, interior design, construction, and engineering a user-friendly, easy-to-use guide to the fundamentals of the 2018 IBC.
Almanac of Architecture and Design 2015
