Skip to main content

Perspectives on the ACRL Framework, Comparing Standards, and Creating Learning Activities for Information Literacy: Framework & Standards Overview

The Framework & the Standards, side by side

In February 2015 ACRL issued its “Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education.”  This document joined ACRL’s 2000 “Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education” as part of what ACRL calls its “constellation of information literacy documents.”   This presentation will introduce the six threshold concepts that comprise the framework.  Because they do not align with the standards, how to integrate them into information literacy programs was the subject of some presentations and discussions during the ACRL and LOEX conferences held during Spring 2015.  This presentation will share some of the ideas from those conferences.  In addition, since the ACRL standards are 15 years old, this presentation will identify a few of the more recent alternatives to them. Finally, this presentation will discuss recent recommendations for creating and modifying lesson plans and learning outcomes to incorporate the framework.

ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards: 2000

Standard One

The information literate student determines the nature and extent of the information needed.

Standard Two

The information literate student accesses needed information effectively and efficiently.

Standard Three

The information literate student evaluates information and its sources critically and incorporates selected information into his or her knowledge base and value system.

Standard Four

The information literate student, individually or as a member of a group, uses information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose.

Standard Five

The information literate student understands many of the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information and accesses and uses information ethically and legally.